Contractor License from Alabama to Arkansas: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Yes — Arkansas has a reciprocity arrangement covering Alabama license holders. Apply to the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) under its reciprocity/endorsement track and complete Arkansas's remaining requirements.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Reciprocity agreement
Arkansas has a trade agreement covering Alabama — but read it at the trade-and-class level before celebrating. The agreement waives Arkansas's exam for the specific trade and class named in the table below; your other licenses may not be covered. What survives for every applicant: Arkansas's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration. Confirm your exact trade and class against the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) listing.
What changes, Alabama → Arkansas
| Alabama (current) | Arkansas (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $220–$315 (Fees are per-board, not additive: General Contractors prime application $300; Electrical reciprocal license $315 (eff. 2/14/2026); HVAC reciprocity $220 (plus $20,000 bond); Home Builders and plumbing fees separate.) | $100 (ACLB commercial/Residential-Builder license filing fee is $100 per the board's application (Residential Remodeler/Home Improvement $50); electrical, plumbing, and HVAC/R licenses carry separate agency fees not captured.) |
| Processing time | 4+ weeks (GC reciprocity applications must be on file 30 days before a quarterly board meeting, so timing depends on the meeting calendar; other boards do not publish a processing range.) | Not stated on official pages |
| Licensing authority | Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors (plus separate Home Builders Licensure Board, Board of Electrical Contractors, HACR Board, and Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board) | Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing); trades via the Board of Electrical Examiners, HVAC/R Licensing Board, and Dept. of Health plumbing program |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arkansas sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Arkansas's current requirements on the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the reciprocity application to the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Building trades: hold a current license 1+ year in AL, TN, LA, MS, or NC and file the ACLB reciprocal form, verified by the origin state, in lieu of the Business & Law exam.
- Trade classifications (electrical, plumbing, HVAC/R) must separately meet the requirements of the responsible Arkansas agency.
- Electrical reciprocity accepts only an original (non-reciprocated) license from a listed state; Wyoming requires a USDOL apprenticeship of 576+ classroom hours.
- Pay the fees ($100 (ACLB commercial/Residential-Builder license filing fee is $100 per the board's application (Residential Remodeler/Home Improvement $50); electrical, plumbing, and HVAC/R licenses carry separate agency fees not captured.)). Processing time: Not stated on official pages.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Arkansas accept an Alabama contractor license?
Yes — Arkansas has a reciprocity arrangement covering Alabama license holders. Apply to the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) under its reciprocity/endorsement track and complete Arkansas's remaining requirements.
What still applies even if reciprocity covers my trade?
Arkansas's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration — reciprocity waives the trade exam only, not these.
What does the Alabama-to-Arkansas move cost and how long does it take?
The figures on file for Arkansas may cover its trade licenses rather than a general contractor application, so confirm the general contractor fee with the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing): $100 (ACLB commercial/Residential-Builder license filing fee is $100 per the board's application (Residential Remodeler/Home Improvement $50); electrical, plumbing, and HVAC/R licenses carry separate agency fees not captured.) Processing time: Not stated on official pages.
Would the NASCLA exam help for this move?
Possibly — NASCLA accredited exams replace the trade exam only in participating states, and this site has not verified that Arkansas is one. Check on the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) site.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board — Reciprocal Form (AL, TN, LA, MS, NC; 1 year held; substitutes for Business & Law exam) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Arkansas Electrical Inspection and Licensing — reciprocal agreements (journeyman 16 states; master IA/ND/OR/TX; original license only) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Arkansas HVAC/R (Dept. of Labor and Licensing) — no reciprocal agreements with any other state ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas (discretionary substantially-similar recognition, no formal reciprocity) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors — Reciprocity (AR, LA, MS, NC, TN; trade exam waived, business-law not waived; 30 days on file) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board — Does the Board reciprocate? (TN, SC, MS, LA, NC; 3 years; skills exam waived, business-law not) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors — Forms and Testing (reciprocal states MS, LA, TN, NC, VA, SC, TX + NASCLA; $315 fee eff. 2/14/2026) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama HACR Board — How to Get Licensed (reciprocal states; $220 fee; $20,000 bond; letter of good standing) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board — Reciprocation (Mississippi master plumber eff. 1/1/2026; Louisiana LP gas) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]