Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Contractor License from New York to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-07-21 · source: Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) ↗

There is no New York state license to carry to Arizona: New York issues no statewide contractor license or trade license. Arizona does license this work, so ask the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) whether it credits a local license or your documented experience; otherwise you qualify as a new applicant.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

No state license to transfer

The issue on this move is the starting point: New York issues no statewide contractor license or trade license, so there is no New York state license for Arizona to recognize. Arizona does license general contractors through the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC): ask whether it credits a local license or documented experience, and expect its full application, business/law exam, financial statement and bond otherwise.

What changes, New York → Arizona

Side-by-side: New York vs Arizona (Contractor (GC/electrical/plumbing/HVAC)), verified 2026-07-21
New York (current)Arizona (destination)
Application feeGeneral contractor fee: No statewide fee; set by each municipality (e.g., NYC DCWP Home Improvement Contractor license)ROC fee schedule was not machine-readable (roc.az.gov and the Secretary of State code PDF block automated fetches); application fees vary by classification and the license bond ranges $4,250-$100,000. Verify current fees at roc.az.gov
Processing timeVaries by municipality; no statewide standardNot stated on accessible official pages
Licensing authorityNo statewide contractor licensing board — licensing is municipal (example: NYC Dept. of Consumer and Worker Protection)Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Review Arizona's requirements on the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Ask the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) whether it credits a local New York license or your documented experience: New York issues no statewide contractor license or trade license, so there is no state license to verify.
  3. Otherwise apply as a new applicant: meet Arizona's education/experience requirements and pass the exams it requires.
  4. Submit the application with fees (ROC fee schedule was not machine-readable (roc.az.gov and the Secretary of State code PDF block automated fetches); application fees vary by classification and the license bond ranges $4,250-$100,000. Verify current fees at roc.az.gov). Processing time: Not stated on accessible official pages.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Arizona accept a New York contractor license?

There is no New York state license to carry to Arizona: New York issues no statewide contractor license or trade license. Arizona does license this work, so ask the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) whether it credits a local license or your documented experience; otherwise you qualify as a new applicant.

What still applies even if reciprocity covers my trade?

Arizona's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration — reciprocity waives the trade exam only, not these.

What does the New York-to-Arizona move cost and how long does it take?

ROC fee schedule was not machine-readable (roc.az.gov and the Secretary of State code PDF block automated fetches); application fees vary by classification and the license bond ranges $4,250-$100,000. Verify current fees at roc.az.gov. Processing time: Not stated on accessible official pages.

Would the NASCLA exam help for this move?

Possibly — NASCLA accredited exams replace the trade exam only in participating states, and this site has not verified that Arizona is one. Check on the Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) site.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]