Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Contractor License from Pennsylvania to Louisiana: Does It Transfer? (2026)

There is no Pennsylvania state license to carry to Louisiana: Pennsylvania issues no contractor license or trade license, only a state registration. Louisiana does license this work, so ask the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) whether it credits a local license or your documented experience; otherwise you qualify as a new applicant.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

No state license to transfer

The issue on this move is the starting point: Pennsylvania issues no contractor license or trade license, so there is no Pennsylvania state license for Louisiana to recognize. Louisiana does license general contractors through the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC): ask whether it credits a local license or documented experience, and expect its full application, business/law exam, financial statement and bond otherwise.

What changes, Pennsylvania → Louisiana

Side-by-side: Pennsylvania vs Louisiana (Contractor (GC/electrical/plumbing/HVAC)), verified 2026-07-21
Pennsylvania (current)Louisiana (destination)
Application feeRegistration fee $100 ($100 registration every two years (non-refundable); online card payment adds a $2 processing fee. There is no state contractor license fee; electrical/plumbing licensing is handled at the municipal/local level.)LSLBC does not publish a flat application fee on its licensing pages; fees are assessed through the online application. A Business and Law exam is required
Processing time2–3 weeks (Registration certificate arrives by mail within 2 to 3 weeks unless the application is incomplete.)Not stated by the board
Licensing authorityPennsylvania Office of Attorney General — Home Improvement Contractor Registration (HICPA)Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Louisiana sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Review Louisiana's requirements on the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Ask the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) whether it credits a local Pennsylvania license or your documented experience: Pennsylvania issues no statewide contractor license or trade license, so there is no state license to verify.
  3. Otherwise apply as a new applicant: meet Louisiana's education/experience requirements and pass the exams it requires.
  4. Submit the application with fees (LSLBC does not publish a flat application fee on its licensing pages; fees are assessed through the online application. A Business and Law exam is required). Processing time: Not stated by the board.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Louisiana accept a Pennsylvania contractor license?

There is no Pennsylvania state license to carry to Louisiana: Pennsylvania issues no contractor license or trade license, only a state registration. Louisiana does license this work, so ask the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) whether it credits a local license or your documented experience; otherwise you qualify as a new applicant.

What still applies even if reciprocity covers my trade?

Louisiana's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration — reciprocity waives the trade exam only, not these.

What does the Pennsylvania-to-Louisiana move cost and how long does it take?

LSLBC does not publish a flat application fee on its licensing pages; fees are assessed through the online application. A Business and Law exam is required. Processing time: Not stated by the board.

Would the NASCLA exam help for this move?

Possibly — NASCLA accredited exams replace the trade exam only in participating states, and this site has not verified that Louisiana is one. Check on the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) site.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]