Contractor License from Virginia to Maryland: Does It Transfer? (2026)
No — Maryland has no reciprocity or endorsement path for Virginia contractor license holders. You must apply to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) as a new applicant and meet Maryland's full licensing requirements, including any exams it requires that you have not already passed. Maryland's electrical, plumbing, and HVAC licenses are handled separately; choose your trade in the checker.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Full re-application
Maryland has no general contractor reciprocity or endorsement path, for Virginia or any other state, so this move is a new application to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC): plan for Maryland's own exams and any education, bond and insurance it requires, with your Virginia license and experience counting only where its rules credit them. Maryland's electrical, plumbing, and HVAC licensing runs separately, on its own terms — select your trade in the checker.
What changes, Virginia → Maryland
| Virginia (current) | Maryland (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $171.75 (Tradesman license by the Reciprocity method of licensure is $171.75, which includes the HB30 technology fee of $7.25 per year. Card Exchange is $131.75. Contractor firm (Class A/B/C) business licenses are a separate DPOR application with their own fee schedule, not captured here. PSI exam fees, where an exam is still required, are paid directly to PSI ($40/$72/$85).) | $25–$150 (Original license fees vary by trade/class: electrical master $25 / journeyperson $18.50; plumbing master plumber-gasfitter $87.50 (master natural gas fitter $150.50); HVACR master $94.50 / journeyman $25. MHIC contractor license (no reciprocity) is $281.25 + $100 Guaranty Fund.) |
| Processing time | DPOR does not publish a processing-time range for tradesman reciprocity applications; set null rather than estimated | Not stated by the boards |
| Licensing authority | Virginia Board for Contractors (Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation) | Maryland Dept. of Labor, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (MHIC; State Board of Master Electricians; State Board of Plumbing; HVACR Contractors Board) |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Maryland sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Review Maryland's initial-licensure requirements on the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) website (linked below): it has no reciprocity or endorsement path for your Virginia license in this trade.
- Expect to meet Maryland's education/experience requirements and pass its exams as a new applicant — prior out-of-state licensure can count toward experience.
- Submit the standard (new applicant) application to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) with the fees it sets for this license.
- Electrical, plumbing, and HVAC licensing in Maryland runs separately, on its own terms: use the checker with your trade selected.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Maryland accept a Virginia contractor license?
No — Maryland has no reciprocity or endorsement path for Virginia contractor license holders. You must apply to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) as a new applicant and meet Maryland's full licensing requirements, including any exams it requires that you have not already passed. Maryland's electrical, plumbing, and HVAC licenses are handled separately; choose your trade in the checker.
What still applies even if reciprocity covers my trade?
Maryland's business and law exam, financial statement, bond, and registration — reciprocity waives the trade exam only, not these.
What does the Virginia-to-Maryland move cost and how long does it take?
The figures on file for Maryland may cover its trade licenses rather than a general contractor application, so confirm the general contractor fee with the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC): $25–$150 (Original license fees vary by trade/class: electrical master $25 / journeyperson $18.50; plumbing master plumber-gasfitter $87.50 (master natural gas fitter $150.50); HVACR master $94.50 / journeyman $25. MHIC contractor license (no reciprocity) is $281.25 + $100 Guaranty Fund.) Processing time: Not stated by the boards.
Would the NASCLA exam help for this move?
Possibly — NASCLA accredited exams replace the trade exam only in participating states, and this site has not verified that Maryland is one. Check on the Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) site.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) — home ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Maryland Board of Master Electricians — Licensing/Reciprocity ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Maryland State Board of Plumbing — Reciprocal License ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Maryland HVACR Board — Reciprocal Licensing ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- MHIC — Forms and Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- VA Board for Contractors — Reciprocal Licensing/Examination Agreements with Other Jurisdictions ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- VA DPOR — Tradesman Exam & License Application A501-2710EXLIC (rev. v8 07/01/2026; Reciprocity method fee $171.75) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- VA DPOR — Board for Contractors (PSI exams, forms, Requirements for Qualified Individuals) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NASCLA — Virginia Board for Contractors, commercial-exam participating agency (as of 2016-01-01, comparable to the Virginia Commercial Building Classification) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]