Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Counseling License from Texas to Missouri: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) ↗

A counseling license transfers from Texas to Missouri by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration), verify your Texas license, and meet Missouri's endorsement requirements. No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

A counseling license moves from Texas to Missouri by endorsement. Neither state gives you a working compact route here: a state that has enacted the Counseling Compact but is not yet operational behaves like a non-member. You apply to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration), which verifies your Texas license and standing, matches it to Missouri's independent tier, and applies its own rule on crediting your national exam score, plus any Missouri jurisprudence and background requirements.

What changes, Texas → Missouri

Side-by-side: Texas vs Missouri (Counseling (LPC / LMHC)), verified 2026-09-27
Texas (current)Missouri (destination)
Counseling Compact statusFull re-application requiredCounseling Compact enacted — not yet issuing
Application fee$165 (LPC Associate/LPC/Provisional License Application fee per 22 TAC 885.1(b) as amended in the 2026-03-13 Texas Register ($154 base + $6 Texas.gov + $5 OPP); this is the ordinary LPC application fee, since Texas has no separate endorsement fee. Jurisprudence exam $39; fingerprinting paid to the vendor. Texas has not enacted the Counseling Compact.)$100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))
Processing time~6 weeks (BHEC's out-of-state LPC application guide says 'Please allow at least 6 weeks for processing before contacting BHEC for a status update'; no maximum is stated)the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications
Licensing authorityTexas Behavioral Health Executive Council (BHEC), Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional CounselorsMissouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Missouri sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Missouri's current requirements on the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold full (independent, not supervised or provisional) professional counselor licensure in another state for at least 1 year.
  5. Have no past or current discipline and no pending complaint on the out-of-state license.
  6. Complete a fingerprint background check through MACHS.
  7. Pass the open-book Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam.
  8. Submit proof of 2 hours of suicide prevention training.
  9. Submit a notarized reciprocity application with license verification and proof of lawful presence.
  10. Pay the fees ($100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))) and allow the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Missouri accept a Texas counseling license?

A counseling license transfers from Texas to Missouri by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration), verify your Texas license, and meet Missouri's endorsement requirements. No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived..

Do I retake the NCE or NCMHCE moving from Texas to Missouri?

No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived.

What does the move cost?

$100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))

How long will it take?

the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications.

Missouri joined the Counseling Compact. Can I use a privilege there?

Not yet. Missouri had enacted the compact but was not issuing or accepting privileges as of 2026-09-27, so counseling clients located in Missouri takes Missouri's own authorization, normally a Missouri license.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]