Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Social Work License from Arizona to Missouri: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration) ↗

Both Arizona and Missouri have enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact, but multistate licenses are not yet being issued (as of 2026-09-27). Until the compact activates, transfer your social work license the standard way: apply for licensure by endorsement.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Compact enacted — endorsement for now

Interim path until the compact activates: licensure by endorsement.

Arizona and Missouri have both enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact, but it was not issuing multistate licenses as of 2026-09-27. Shared enactment changes nothing about this move today: you apply to the Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration) through its standard out-of-state process below, and your ASWB score is transferred, not retaken.

What changes, Arizona → Missouri

Side-by-side: Arizona vs Missouri (Social Work (LCSW / LICSW)), verified 2026-09-27
Arizona (current)Missouri (destination)
SW Compact statusSW Compact enacted — not yet issuingSW Compact enacted — not yet issuing
Application fee$250 (Application for license by endorsement fee under Ariz. Admin. Code R4-6-215(A)(2); non-refundable. The rule also lists a $40 criminal history background check charge. The Board site (azbbhe.us) blocked automated access on 2026-09-27, so the fee could not be re-checked there. A $100 issuance fee appears as struck in the codified rule text read.)$75 (Reciprocity application fee $75 (form MO 375-0901, rev. 8-2025), nonrefundable, payable by cashier's check, money order, personal check or bank draft. Fingerprinting is paid separately to IdentoGO/MACHS (amount not stated on the Committee's pages).)
Processing timeR4-6-302 sets administrative completeness and substantive review time frames in a Table 1 that was not readable in the source consulted, and the Board's own site blocked automated access. Deficiency responses are due within 60 days.No processing time is published; fingerprint results are valid for one year. A temporary permit request form exists for reciprocity applicants.
Licensing authorityArizona Board of Behavioral Health ExaminersMissouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Missouri sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Missouri's current requirements on the Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration) (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
  4. Hold an active license in another state for one year or longer (if under one year, contact the Committee).
  5. Submit the Application for Licensure by Reciprocity (MO 375-0901) with the fee, checking Clinical Social Worker.
  6. Have every state where you hold or held a license send verification directly to the Committee.
  7. Complete 2 hours of suicide assessment, treatment and management training within the last 2 years.
  8. Complete IdentoGO fingerprinting (service code 5416; out-of-state applicants request an FD-258 card).
  9. Pay the fees ($75 (Reciprocity application fee $75 (form MO 375-0901, rev. 8-2025), nonrefundable, payable by cashier's check, money order, personal check or bank draft. Fingerprinting is paid separately to IdentoGO/MACHS (amount not stated on the Committee's pages).)) and allow No processing time is published; fingerprint results are valid for one year. A temporary permit request form exists for reciprocity applicants..

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Missouri accept an Arizona social work license?

Both Arizona and Missouri have enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact, but multistate licenses are not yet being issued (as of 2026-09-27). Until the compact activates, transfer your social work license the standard way: apply for licensure by endorsement.

Do I retake the ASWB exam moving from Arizona to Missouri?

No exam is retaken and the reciprocity application does not list an ASWB score report among its required items (completed application, fee, license verifications, suicide-prevention training attestation, fingerprint results). No Missouri jurisprudence exam is required. ASWB sends the score for $40 per transfer, requested in ASWBCentral, and delivery takes 7-10 business days.

What does the Arizona-to-Missouri move cost and how long does it take?

$75 (Reciprocity application fee $75 (form MO 375-0901, rev. 8-2025), nonrefundable, payable by cashier's check, money order, personal check or bank draft. Fingerprinting is paid separately to IdentoGO/MACHS (amount not stated on the Committee's pages).) Processing: No processing time is published; fingerprint results are valid for one year. A temporary permit request form exists for reciprocity applicants.

Arizona and Missouri are both compact states. Can I practice in Missouri on my Arizona license?

No. The Social Work Licensure Compact was not issuing multistate licenses as of 2026-09-27, so it authorizes no practice in Missouri. You need a Missouri license from the Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration).

Will Missouri accept the supervised hours I completed in Arizona?

Most boards credit supervised experience completed under another state's rules, but some compare it with their own requirement. Missouri's rule, where the Missouri State Committee for Social Workers (Division of Professional Registration) publishes one, is in the requirements on this page; confirm with the board if your hours were logged under a different structure.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]