Teaching License from Florida to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Florida teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Streamlined recognition
Coming from Florida, Arizona is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Arizona for its own credential, not carrying your Florida license across. Arizona issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable Florida certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Arizona still asks.
What changes, Florida → Arizona
| Florida (current) | Arizona (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $75 ($75 processing fee per subject for an initial Florida certification application (non-refundable), per the FLDOE Certification Application Fee Schedule; district fingerprint/background screening costs are separate) | $60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule) |
| Processing time | A specific board processing time is not published on the reviewed FLDOE pages | Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page |
| Licensing authority | Florida Department of Education (FLDOE) - Bureau of Educator Certification | Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate in good standing (comparable to an Arizona Standard certificate; out-of-state Emergency or Alternative certificates are not accepted).
- Provide a valid Arizona DPS Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint clearance card.
- Submit official transcripts (or a foreign credential evaluation).
- Complete U.S. Constitution and Arizona Constitution coursework — allowable deficiencies to finish within 1 or 3 years depending on certificate area, or the certificate is placed on non-disciplinary suspension until met.
- Pay the fees ($60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule)). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Arizona accept a Florida teaching license?
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Florida teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Florida to Arizona?
Applicants who qualify under Arizona's Certification Reciprocity Rules are exempt from Arizona educator exam requirements — the ADE page states 'Exams or work experience are not required under reciprocity rules'; a valid, comparable out-of-state certificate (or National Board certificate) is accepted in lieu of Arizona testing.
Can I teach in Arizona right away?
Yes, once the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit issues your Arizona certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Arizona's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Florida-to-Arizona transfer cost and how long does it take?
$60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- Arizona Department of Education — Reciprocity Requirements (Out-of-State Certification) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- FLDOE - Certified Teacher or Administrator (two reciprocity routes to the Professional Certificate; comparable standard cert or NBPTS; FTCE not required; 3-year non-renewable Temporary Certificate) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- FLDOE - Certification Application Fee Schedule ($75 per subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]