Teaching License from Michigan to Connecticut: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Michigan to Connecticut by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification, verify your Michigan license, and meet Connecticut's endorsement requirements. Under Enhanced Reciprocity (valid certificate from a listed state/territory) no Connecticut assessments or transcripts are required to be issued the certificate; under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement (all other states) applicants qualify via a state-approved program (ED 125) or 30 months of experience (ED 126), and may be exempt from the Praxis II subject-matter assessment if they hold a valid out-of-state certificate at least equivalent to a CT Initial Educator Certificate plus three years of experience in the endorsement within 10 years, or a master's degree in the subject.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Michigan to Connecticut is an application, not a transfer: Connecticut reviews your Michigan certificate and issues a Connecticut certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Connecticut still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Michigan → Connecticut
| Michigan (current) | Connecticut (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $210 ($210 out-of-state evaluation fee for the Standard or Professional Teaching Certificate (the in-state fee for the same certificates is $160); an additional endorsement is $50. Fees are authorized by MCL 380.1538, are valid two years from the date of payment, and are not refunded for denied applications) | $50 ($50 non-refundable application review fee for the ED 170 (both the Enhanced Reciprocity and NIA paths); payable by credit card in CECS or by cashier's/certified check or money order) |
| Processing time | MDE publishes no processing timeframe; an assigned certification specialist evaluates the credential and issues an evaluation letter identifying any remaining tests or coursework before certification | Not stated on the reviewed CSDE certification pages |
| Licensing authority | Michigan Department of Education (MDE) — Office of Educator Excellence (Educator Certification) | Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Connecticut sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Connecticut's current requirements on the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Complete the ED 170 application through the Connecticut Educator Certification System (CECS) or on paper, and pay the non-refundable review fee.
- Submit a copy of a valid out-of-state educator certificate (temporary, emergency, or interim certificates are not accepted).
- For the NASDTEC/NIA path, verify a state-approved preparation program (ED 125) or 30 months of successful full-time experience in the last 10 years (ED 126, signed by the superintendent/HR director).
- Submit official undergraduate/graduate transcripts by mail or to [email protected] (not required to be issued a certificate under Enhanced Reciprocity, but recommended for the permanent file).
- Pay the fees ($50 ($50 non-refundable application review fee for the ED 170 (both the Enhanced Reciprocity and NIA paths); payable by credit card in CECS or by cashier's/certified check or money order)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed CSDE certification pages.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Connecticut accept a Michigan teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Michigan to Connecticut by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification, verify your Michigan license, and meet Connecticut's endorsement requirements. Under Enhanced Reciprocity (valid certificate from a listed state/territory) no Connecticut assessments or transcripts are required to be issued the certificate; under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement (all other states) applicants qualify via a state-approved program (ED 125) or 30 months of experience (ED 126), and may be exempt from the Praxis II subject-matter assessment if they hold a valid out-of-state certificate at least equivalent to a CT Initial Educator Certificate plus three years of experience in the endorsement within 10 years, or a master's degree in the subject.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Michigan to Connecticut?
Under Enhanced Reciprocity (valid certificate from a listed state/territory) no Connecticut assessments or transcripts are required to be issued the certificate; under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement (all other states) applicants qualify via a state-approved program (ED 125) or 30 months of experience (ED 126), and may be exempt from the Praxis II subject-matter assessment if they hold a valid out-of-state certificate at least equivalent to a CT Initial Educator Certificate plus three years of experience in the endorsement within 10 years, or a master's degree in the subject.
Can I teach in Connecticut right away?
Not until the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) - Bureau of Certification issues your Connecticut certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Michigan-to-Connecticut transfer cost and how long does it take?
$50 ($50 non-refundable application review fee for the ED 170 (both the Enhanced Reciprocity and NIA paths); payable by credit card in CECS or by cashier's/certified check or money order). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed CSDE certification pages.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- CSDE - Enhanced Reciprocity States: How To (listed states, ED 170, $50 fee, no transcripts/exams) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CSDE - How do teachers from other states apply (Initial Educator Certificate via NIA; ED 125 program / ED 126 30-months; $50 fee) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CSDE - Am I exempt from subject matter assessments (Praxis II exemption via experience or master's) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- MDE — Out-of-State Applicants (Standard, Professional, and Temporary Teaching Certificates; MTTC testing; three-year experience exemption; reading methods coursework) [michigan.gov intermittently blocks automated clients; read via the Internet Archive capture of 2026-08-03] ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- MDE — Certificate Evaluation Fees (out-of-state fee table: $210 Standard and Professional Teaching Certificate, $160 in-state, $50 additional endorsement; fees valid two years) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]