Teaching License from North Carolina to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable North Carolina teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Streamlined recognition
Coming from North Carolina, Arizona is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Arizona for its own credential, not carrying your North Carolina license across. Arizona issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable North Carolina certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Arizona still asks.
What changes, North Carolina → Arizona
| North Carolina (current) | Arizona (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $30–$100 (NCDPI publishes only a range: 'Non-refundable service fees range from $30 - $100' for professional educator's licenses, with the exact amount set by application type under the State Board's Licensure Fees policy. No single out-of-state application figure is published.) | $60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule) |
| Processing time | 8–12 weeks (NCDPI's licensure page states 'Processing of licensure applications is currently averaging 8-12 weeks.' This is a current-conditions figure, not a statutory service standard.) | Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page |
| Licensing authority | North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) — Educator Licensure | Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate in good standing (comparable to an Arizona Standard certificate; out-of-state Emergency or Alternative certificates are not accepted).
- Provide a valid Arizona DPS Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint clearance card.
- Submit official transcripts (or a foreign credential evaluation).
- Complete U.S. Constitution and Arizona Constitution coursework — allowable deficiencies to finish within 1 or 3 years depending on certificate area, or the certificate is placed on non-disciplinary suspension until met.
- Pay the fees ($60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule)). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Arizona accept a North Carolina teaching license?
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable North Carolina teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Will I have to retake tests moving from North Carolina to Arizona?
Applicants who qualify under Arizona's Certification Reciprocity Rules are exempt from Arizona educator exam requirements — the ADE page states 'Exams or work experience are not required under reciprocity rules'; a valid, comparable out-of-state certificate (or National Board certificate) is accepted in lieu of Arizona testing.
Can I teach in Arizona right away?
Yes, once the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit issues your Arizona certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Arizona's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.
What does the North Carolina-to-Arizona transfer cost and how long does it take?
$60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- Arizona Department of Education — Reciprocity Requirements (Out-of-State Certification) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- NCDPI — Educator's Licensure (processing time) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Further Educator License Information (out-of-state, CPL/IPL, exam comparability) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Forms and FAQs (fee range, out-of-state applicant definition) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Apply for a NC Educator License ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]