Teaching License from Ohio to Delaware: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to Delaware by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification, verify your Ohio license, and meet Delaware's endorsement requirements. Test scores are not required for a reciprocity credential - Delaware states test scores are only needed for applications that do not meet Delaware reciprocity requirements or for new (non-reciprocal) certificate applications; a holder of a current, valid out-of-state license therefore transfers without retaking Delaware's Praxis tests.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Ohio to Delaware is an application, not a transfer: Delaware reviews your Ohio certificate and issues a Delaware certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Delaware still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Ohio → Delaware
| Ohio (current) | Delaware (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | NOT VERIFIED — Ohio publishes licensure fees inside the CORE application system rather than on a public fee page, and every public Ohio licensure URL (education.ohio.gov and sboe.ohio.gov) rejected automated retrieval on 2026-08-08: education.ohio.gov returns an F5 WAF 'Request Rejected' page to all clients including full browser headers, and sboe.ohio.gov returns 404 to every educator-licensure path tried. RETRIED 2026-09-01 with the same result: education.ohio.gov still answers the F5 'Request Rejected' interstitial (HTTP 200 with a rejection body) to full browser headers, sboe.ohio.gov still 404s on every path including its own root and the /wps/portal/ variants, and codes.ohio.gov and lsc.ohio.gov refused the connection outright. The one reachable official host, the CORE public site (core.ode.state.oh.us), publishes an applications guide that states only that fees are paid in CORE and names a single $20 alignment fee — no license application fee schedule. No fee figure is asserted rather than publishing an unverified number. Ohio waives licensure fees for honorably discharged veterans and current service members | $100 (One-time, non-refundable $100 application fee for a first Delaware license; reimbursable upon employment in a Delaware public or charter school once the educator is fully licensed and certified) |
| Processing time | NOT VERIFIED — no processing timeframe could be read; the Ohio licensure pages were unreachable to automated retrieval on 2026-08-08 (see fees notes) | Not stated on the reviewed DDOE out-of-state applicant page |
| Licensing authority | Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Office of Educator Licensure | Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Delaware sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Delaware's current requirements on the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a current and valid out-of-state license/certificate (expired licenses are not reciprocal) and apply online in the Delaware Educator Data System (DEEDS) via the EdAccess login.
- Document at least one year of successful teaching experience under the out-of-state license for an Initial License by reciprocity (four years for a Continuing License).
- Have official (unopened) transcripts for all degrees/coursework sent directly to the Delaware Department of Education from regionally accredited institutions.
- Submit Form E (Verification of Teaching Experience) completed by the prior school/personnel office when the experience was outside a Delaware public/charter school.
- Pay the fees ($100 (One-time, non-refundable $100 application fee for a first Delaware license; reimbursable upon employment in a Delaware public or charter school once the educator is fully licensed and certified)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed DDOE out-of-state applicant page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Delaware accept an Ohio teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to Delaware by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification, verify your Ohio license, and meet Delaware's endorsement requirements. Test scores are not required for a reciprocity credential - Delaware states test scores are only needed for applications that do not meet Delaware reciprocity requirements or for new (non-reciprocal) certificate applications; a holder of a current, valid out-of-state license therefore transfers without retaking Delaware's Praxis tests.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Ohio to Delaware?
Test scores are not required for a reciprocity credential - Delaware states test scores are only needed for applications that do not meet Delaware reciprocity requirements or for new (non-reciprocal) certificate applications; a holder of a current, valid out-of-state license therefore transfers without retaking Delaware's Praxis tests.
Can I teach in Delaware right away?
Not until the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) - Licensure and Certification issues your Delaware certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Ohio-to-Delaware transfer cost and how long does it take?
$100 (One-time, non-refundable $100 application fee for a first Delaware license; reimbursable upon employment in a Delaware public or charter school once the educator is fully licensed and certified). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed DDOE out-of-state applicant page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-08.
- DDOE - Out-of-State Applicant (Initial/Continuing License by reciprocity, DEEDS, $100 fee, Form E, tests waived for reciprocity) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Teaching (educator licensure hub; domain confirmed live but serves an F5 WAF rejection to automated clients) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-08)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-08
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]