Teaching License from Pennsylvania to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Pennsylvania teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Streamlined recognition
Coming from Pennsylvania, Arizona is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Arizona for its own credential, not carrying your Pennsylvania license across. Arizona issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable Pennsylvania certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Arizona still asks.
What changes, Pennsylvania → Arizona
| Pennsylvania (current) | Arizona (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $150 ($150 total for an out-of-state applicant's new credential (program completed outside PA: Instructional, Career and Technical, Educational Specialist, Administrative/Supervisory, LOE, CQL) per PDE's Fees and Forms schedule effective 11/12/25 — a $50 standard certification fee (capped at $50 by Act 47 of 2025) plus the separate $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee, which Act 47 did not waive. Charged inside TIMS at submission. Veterans and their spouses are exempt from both fees. Separate from this: Praxis/PECT test fees paid to the testing provider, transcript costs, and background-check clearances. Adding an endorsement is billed separately ($100). On the same PDE schedule, experience-based credentials and their add-ons are $0, but testing add-ons (Instructional I/II, Career and Technical Instructional I/II, Administrative) are $150 — add-ons are not uniformly free, so check which kind yours is.) | $60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule) |
| Processing time | NOT VERIFIED — PDE publishes no processing timeframe for out-of-state certification applications on the reviewed page | Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page |
| Licensing authority | Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) — Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality | Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate in good standing (comparable to an Arizona Standard certificate; out-of-state Emergency or Alternative certificates are not accepted).
- Provide a valid Arizona DPS Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint clearance card.
- Submit official transcripts (or a foreign credential evaluation).
- Complete U.S. Constitution and Arizona Constitution coursework — allowable deficiencies to finish within 1 or 3 years depending on certificate area, or the certificate is placed on non-disciplinary suspension until met.
- Pay the fees ($60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule)). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Arizona accept a Pennsylvania teaching license?
Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Pennsylvania teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Pennsylvania to Arizona?
Applicants who qualify under Arizona's Certification Reciprocity Rules are exempt from Arizona educator exam requirements — the ADE page states 'Exams or work experience are not required under reciprocity rules'; a valid, comparable out-of-state certificate (or National Board certificate) is accepted in lieu of Arizona testing.
Can I teach in Arizona right away?
Yes, once the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit issues your Arizona certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Arizona's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Pennsylvania-to-Arizona transfer cost and how long does it take?
$60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-01.
- Arizona Department of Education — Reciprocity Requirements (Out-of-State Certification) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Pennsylvania Department of Education — Out-of-State Educators (TIMS application, transcripts, test-score reporting, PDE338V/PDE338A forms, citizenship requirement) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-08)
- Pennsylvania Department of Education — Certification Fees and Forms (fee schedule effective 11/12/25: out-of-state new credential $50 standard + $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee = $150; veteran/spouse exemption) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-09-01
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]