Teaching License from Pennsylvania to Indiana: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Pennsylvania to Indiana by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Indiana's endorsement requirements. The Office of Educator Licensing evaluates the out-of-state credential and issues an Evaluation/Deficiency Letter through LVIS; any Indiana licensure testing requirements identified in that letter must be completed before the reciprocal permit converts to a standard Instructional license (out-of-state preparation/testing may satisfy requirements where comparable).
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
The honest version of Pennsylvania to Indiana: your Pennsylvania teaching license gets you in the door, not an Indiana license on its own terms. Indiana reviews your credential and, if you still owe its requirements, can issue a Reciprocal Permit (renewable one year at a time) so you can teach while you complete them. Plan those requirements into your first year.
What changes, Pennsylvania → Indiana
| Pennsylvania (current) | Indiana (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $150 ($150 total for an out-of-state applicant's new credential (program completed outside PA: Instructional, Career and Technical, Educational Specialist, Administrative/Supervisory, LOE, CQL) per PDE's Fees and Forms schedule effective 11/12/25 — a $50 standard certification fee (capped at $50 by Act 47 of 2025) plus the separate $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee, which Act 47 did not waive. Charged inside TIMS at submission. Veterans and their spouses are exempt from both fees. Separate from this: Praxis/PECT test fees paid to the testing provider, transcript costs, and background-check clearances. Adding an endorsement is billed separately ($100). On the same PDE schedule, experience-based credentials and their add-ons are $0, but testing add-ons (Instructional I/II, Career and Technical Instructional I/II, Administrative) are $150 — add-ons are not uniformly free, so check which kind yours is.) | LVIS application/permit fee is assessed at submission; a fixed amount was not published on the reviewed IDOE pages |
| Processing time | NOT VERIFIED — PDE publishes no processing timeframe for out-of-state certification applications on the reviewed page | Not stated; a credential evaluation precedes issuance of the deficiency letter |
| Licensing authority | Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) — Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher Quality | Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Indiana sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Indiana's current requirements on the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Apply through LVIS/LVIS360 (Office of Educator Licensing); an out-of-state licensed teacher is first issued a Reciprocal Permit.
- Satisfy the Evaluation/Deficiency Letter issued through LVIS to establish a standard Indiana Educator License.
- Hold a valid CPR/AED card from an IDOE-approved provider.
- Complete Suicide Prevention Awareness training (certificate).
- Pay the fees (LVIS application/permit fee is assessed at submission; a fixed amount was not published on the reviewed IDOE pages). Processing time: Not stated; a credential evaluation precedes issuance of the deficiency letter.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Indiana accept a Pennsylvania teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Pennsylvania to Indiana by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Indiana's endorsement requirements. The Office of Educator Licensing evaluates the out-of-state credential and issues an Evaluation/Deficiency Letter through LVIS; any Indiana licensure testing requirements identified in that letter must be completed before the reciprocal permit converts to a standard Instructional license (out-of-state preparation/testing may satisfy requirements where comparable).
Will I have to retake tests moving from Pennsylvania to Indiana?
The Office of Educator Licensing evaluates the out-of-state credential and issues an Evaluation/Deficiency Letter through LVIS; any Indiana licensure testing requirements identified in that letter must be completed before the reciprocal permit converts to a standard Instructional license (out-of-state preparation/testing may satisfy requirements where comparable).
Can I teach in Indiana right away?
Possibly. Indiana can issue a Reciprocal Permit (renewable one year at a time) so you can teach while you complete its remaining requirements; ask the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) - Office of Educator Licensing whether you qualify for it.
What does the Pennsylvania-to-Indiana transfer cost and how long does it take?
LVIS application/permit fee is assessed at submission; a fixed amount was not published on the reviewed IDOE pages. Processing time: Not stated; a credential evaluation precedes issuance of the deficiency letter.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-01.
- IDOE - Educator Licensing (Office of Educator Licensing / LVIS360; required trainings) [accessed via Internet Archive; in.gov blocks automated access] ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- IDOE - Convert Reciprocal Permit to Standard License (CPR, Suicide Prevention, deficiency letter) [accessed via Internet Archive] ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Pennsylvania Department of Education — Out-of-State Educators (TIMS application, transcripts, test-score reporting, PDE338V/PDE338A forms, citizenship requirement) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-08)
- Pennsylvania Department of Education — Certification Fees and Forms (fee schedule effective 11/12/25: out-of-state new credential $50 standard + $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee = $150; veteran/spouse exemption) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-01)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-09-01
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]