Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Texas to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Texas teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Streamlined recognition

Coming from Texas, Arizona is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Arizona for its own credential, not carrying your Texas license across. Arizona issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable Texas certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Arizona still asks.

What changes, Texas → Arizona

Side-by-side: Texas vs Arizona (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-08-07
Texas (current)Arizona (destination)
Application fee$160–$164 (19 TAC Sec. 230.101 (SBEC rules currently in effect) sets the nonrefundable fee for 'Review of a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $160, the standard certificate at $75, and the 'One-year certificate based on a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $50. TEA's out-of-state application materials state $164 is collected for the credentials review; the $4 difference is not explained on any TEA page reviewed, so the range is reported rather than a single figure. The national criminal history check fee (a $10 criminal history review fee plus the current DPS/FBI fingerprint scanning and processing cost) and TExES exam fees are additional)$60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule)
Processing time6–8 weeks (TEA: 'Applicants should allow 6 to 8 weeks for processing.' Reviews and test-exemption determinations run longer in the busy season, which TEA pages describe variously as March-October and April-September. TEA's out-of-state certification page reported 531 applications awaiting review as of August 5, 2026 with four specialists assigned)Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page
Licensing authorityTexas Education Agency (TEA) - Educator CertificationArizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a valid, comparable out-of-state educator certificate in good standing (comparable to an Arizona Standard certificate; out-of-state Emergency or Alternative certificates are not accepted).
  5. Provide a valid Arizona DPS Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint clearance card.
  6. Submit official transcripts (or a foreign credential evaluation).
  7. Complete U.S. Constitution and Arizona Constitution coursework — allowable deficiencies to finish within 1 or 3 years depending on certificate area, or the certificate is placed on non-disciplinary suspension until met.
  8. Pay the fees ($60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule)). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Arizona accept a Texas teaching license?

Usually, with conditions — Arizona issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Texas teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit and meet any condition it sets for your credential.

Will I have to retake tests moving from Texas to Arizona?

Applicants who qualify under Arizona's Certification Reciprocity Rules are exempt from Arizona educator exam requirements — the ADE page states 'Exams or work experience are not required under reciprocity rules'; a valid, comparable out-of-state certificate (or National Board certificate) is accepted in lieu of Arizona testing.

Can I teach in Arizona right away?

Yes, once the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) — Certification Unit issues your Arizona certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Arizona's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.

What does the Texas-to-Arizona transfer cost and how long does it take?

$60 ($60 per certificate, endorsement, or approved area; non-refundable per Board rule). Processing time: Not stated on the ADE reciprocity page.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]