Teaching License from Texas to Illinois: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Usually, with conditions — Illinois issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Texas teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Streamlined recognition
Coming from Texas, Illinois is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Illinois for its own credential, not carrying your Texas license across. Illinois issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable Texas certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Illinois still asks.
What changes, Texas → Illinois
| Texas (current) | Illinois (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $160–$164 (19 TAC Sec. 230.101 (SBEC rules currently in effect) sets the nonrefundable fee for 'Review of a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $160, the standard certificate at $75, and the 'One-year certificate based on a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $50. TEA's out-of-state application materials state $164 is collected for the credentials review; the $4 difference is not explained on any TEA page reviewed, so the range is reported rather than a single figure. The national criminal history check fee (a $10 criminal history review fee plus the current DPS/FBI fingerprint scanning and processing cost) and TExES exam fees are additional) | $150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment) |
| Processing time | 6–8 weeks (TEA: 'Applicants should allow 6 to 8 weeks for processing.' Reviews and test-exemption determinations run longer in the busy season, which TEA pages describe variously as March-October and April-September. TEA's out-of-state certification page reported 531 applications awaiting review as of August 5, 2026 with four specialists assigned) | Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page |
| Licensing authority | Texas Education Agency (TEA) - Educator Certification | Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Illinois sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Illinois's current requirements on the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Create an ELIS account and apply for the Professional Educator License (PEL) as an out-of-state applicant.
- Provide a valid, comparable out-of-state license (upload to ELIS or email to ISBE).
- Have your regionally accredited institution send official transcripts directly to ISBE.
- Pass the applicable Illinois content-area test if required (ILTS).
- Register the issued license in ELIS and pay registration fees before it is valid for employment.
- Pay the fees ($150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Illinois accept a Texas teaching license?
Usually, with conditions — Illinois issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Texas teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Texas to Illinois?
Reciprocity applicants provide a valid, comparable out-of-state license and must pass the applicable Illinois content-area test only if ISBE deems it required (registered through the Illinois Licensure Testing System, ILTS); the edTPA/teacher-performance assessment and Illinois-specific coursework are generally not imposed on comparably licensed out-of-state applicants.
Can I teach in Illinois right away?
Yes, once the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure issues your Illinois certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Illinois's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Texas-to-Illinois transfer cost and how long does it take?
$150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- ISBE - Educator Licensure Application (Reciprocity / Out-of-State supporting documentation and fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- ISBE - Educator Licensure (requirements hub) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Certified Educators (no reciprocity; Review of Credentials; certificate must be valid and active; 6-8 weeks) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Educator Test Exemption Review (1 year classroom / 2 years administrative-student services / 3+ years verifiable; STR not exemptible by experience or Reading Academies) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas SBEC rules currently in effect - 19 TAC Chapter 230 Subchapter G PDF, Sec. 230.101 Schedule of Fees ($160 review of an out-of-jurisdiction credential; $75 standard certificate; $50 one-year certificate; $10 criminal history review fee plus fingerprint costs) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Certifications overview (ECOS account required; 6 to 8 weeks in busiest months April-September; current review backlog) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Application Instructions (three-step TEAL sequence: Review of Credentials, One-Year Certificate, Standard Certificate) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]