Teaching License from Vermont to Illinois: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Usually, with conditions — Illinois issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Vermont teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Streamlined recognition
Coming from Vermont, Illinois is a comparatively smooth move — but "reciprocity" still means applying to Illinois for its own credential, not carrying your Vermont license across. Illinois issues its own certificate to a teacher holding a comparable Vermont certificate, usually without its tests; a credential it does not treat as comparable takes a different route. The requirements below are what Illinois still asks.
What changes, Vermont → Illinois
| Vermont (current) | Illinois (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $200 (Level I (Initial) license, 3-year term - $200.00, made up of a $50.00 non-refundable application processing fee plus $50.00 per year of the license term (AOE Licensing Fee Schedule, dated November 18, 2025). Charged on top: $12.00 criminal record check (as of January 1, 2025) and a $10.00 per-license download fee. Level II (5-year term) is $300.00 but is only reachable after three years teaching in Vermont, so it is not an entry cost for a transferring educator. The $1,200.00 per-endorsement Peer Review alternate-route fee is waived by the legislature through June 30, 2029) | $150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment) |
| Processing time | The AOE publishes no processing-time range for reciprocity applications on the reciprocity, traditional-route, or online-licensing pages reviewed | Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page |
| Licensing authority | Vermont Agency of Education (AOE) - Educators & Licensure | Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Illinois sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Illinois's current requirements on the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Create an ELIS account and apply for the Professional Educator License (PEL) as an out-of-state applicant.
- Provide a valid, comparable out-of-state license (upload to ELIS or email to ISBE).
- Have your regionally accredited institution send official transcripts directly to ISBE.
- Pass the applicable Illinois content-area test if required (ILTS).
- Register the issued license in ELIS and pay registration fees before it is valid for employment.
- Pay the fees ($150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Illinois accept a Vermont teaching license?
Usually, with conditions — Illinois issues its own teaching certificate to a holder of a comparable Vermont teaching certificate, usually without its tests. It is not an automatic exchange: apply to the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure and meet any condition it sets for your credential.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Vermont to Illinois?
Reciprocity applicants provide a valid, comparable out-of-state license and must pass the applicable Illinois content-area test only if ISBE deems it required (registered through the Illinois Licensure Testing System, ILTS); the edTPA/teacher-performance assessment and Illinois-specific coursework are generally not imposed on comparably licensed out-of-state applicants.
Can I teach in Illinois right away?
Yes, once the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure issues your Illinois certificate; for a comparable certificate it usually comes without Illinois's tests. Build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Vermont-to-Illinois transfer cost and how long does it take?
$150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- ISBE - Educator Licensure Application (Reciprocity / Out-of-State supporting documentation and fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- ISBE - Educator Licensure (requirements hub) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Vermont AOE - Reciprocity (NASDTEC Interstate Agreement basis; Vermont accepts professional teaching licenses from all US jurisdictions including non-signatories; VLSE application) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Vermont AOE - Licensing Fee Schedule PDF (Level I 3-year $200 = $50 non-refundable processing + $50/year; Level II 5-year $300; $10 license download; $12 criminal record check as of 1/1/2025; $1,200 Peer Review waived through 6/30/2029) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Vermont AOE - FAQ: NASDTEC Interstate Agreement PDF (signatory-state license exempts the endorsement testing requirement; Level I issued regardless of experience; Level II after 3 years teaching in Vermont; legacy 9/1/15 non-signatory list) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Vermont AOE - Traditional Route to Licensure (all applicants must complete a fingerprint-supported criminal record check within the online application; accepts licenses from all US jurisdictions) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Vermont AOE - Testing Requirements (Vermont requires most candidates to take Praxis Core and Praxis II) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]