Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Transfer Your Counseling License to Montana: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Montana Board of Behavioral Health (Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division) ↗

Montana has enacted the Counseling Compact, but it was not yet issuing or accepting privileges as of 2026-09-27, so no privilege authorizes practice here. An out-of-state counselor needs a Montana license, normally by endorsement from the Montana Board of Behavioral Health (Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division); how Montana treats your NCE or NCMHCE score is in the exam question below. Fee: $200 (LCPC application fee per the Board's LCPC checklist; fingerprint/background-check cost paid separately (not stated on the pages read)). Processing: the Board publishes no processing timeframe for LCPC applications.

Moving to Montana from a specific state?

Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Counseling Compact enacted — not yet issuing

Montana has passed the Counseling Compact into law, and its board may describe the state as having joined, but as of 2026-09-27 it was not issuing or accepting privileges. That makes Montana a non-compact state in practice: no privilege lets you see a client located here, in person or by telehealth, and a Montana license cannot yet anchor privileges elsewhere. Plan on a Montana license by endorsement, and check the commission's announcements, because states have been switching on every few weeks.

Montana's independent counselor license is the LCPC (Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor); the LCPC candidate is the supervised tier. Out-of-state licensure rests on MCA 37-1-304: an active license in good standing from a jurisdiction with substantially equivalent qualifications. Where the qualifications are not equivalent, the department may weigh the applicant's work experience. The statute sets no residency or minimum-years rule. The Board's 2025 checklist lists four LCPC routes: an equivalent out-of-state license (Option 2); a license from an otherwise-equivalent state with lesser education, plus a master's of at least 48 semester credits, 5 years of post-degree experience and 3,000 supervised hours (Option 3, per MAR 24-219-37 / HB 137 of 2023); and other licenses subject to Board review (Option 4). The 2024 LCPC checklist says equivalent-state applicants must also show the supervised hours and a passed NBCC exam. Montana has ENACTED the Counseling Compact but is not yet issuing or accepting privileges. compact_member and compact_status are assembler-provided. Current ARM text on rules.mt.gov was not read directly.

Montana requirements at a glance

Out-of-state counseling license transfer requirements for Montana, verified 2026-09-27
ExamNational exam is not retaken: Montana accepts either the NBCC NCE or the NCMHCE for the LCPC, with proof sent directly from NBCC. No Montana jurisprudence exam is listed for LCPC applicants.
Additional requirements
  • Hold a current, active LCPC-equivalent license in good standing from a state whose requirements are substantially equivalent to Montana's
  • Have passed the NBCC NCE or NCMHCE, with proof sent directly from NBCC
  • Document 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree experience meeting ARM 24.219.604
  • Submit fingerprints for a Montana Department of Justice and FBI background check
  • Provide verification of every professional license held, certified transcripts and the Academic Summary form
Fees$200 (LCPC application fee per the Board's LCPC checklist; fingerprint/background-check cost paid separately (not stated on the pages read))
Processing timethe Board publishes no processing timeframe for LCPC applications

Step by step

  1. Confirm Montana's current requirements on the Montana Board of Behavioral Health (Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division) website — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Montana Board of Behavioral Health (Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division) (application linked on this page).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a current, active LCPC-equivalent license in good standing from a state whose requirements are substantially equivalent to Montana's.
  5. Have passed the NBCC NCE or NCMHCE, with proof sent directly from NBCC.
  6. Document 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree experience meeting ARM 24.219.604.
  7. Submit fingerprints for a Montana Department of Justice and FBI background check.
  8. Provide verification of every professional license held, certified transcripts and the Academic Summary form.
  9. Pay the fees ($200 (LCPC application fee per the Board's LCPC checklist; fingerprint/background-check cost paid separately (not stated on the pages read))) and allow the Board publishes no processing timeframe for LCPC applications.

Official links

Coming from a specific state?

Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Montana:

Nearby states

Counseling license transfer into the states bordering Montana:

Montana for other professions

Frequently asked questions

Does my counseling license transfer to Montana?

Montana has enacted the Counseling Compact, but it was not yet issuing or accepting privileges as of 2026-09-27, so no privilege authorizes practice here. An out-of-state counselor needs a Montana license, normally by endorsement from the Montana Board of Behavioral Health (Department of Labor and Industry, Business Standards Division); how Montana treats your NCE or NCMHCE score is in the exam question below. Fee: $200 (LCPC application fee per the Board's LCPC checklist; fingerprint/background-check cost paid separately (not stated on the pages read)). Processing: the Board publishes no processing timeframe for LCPC applications.

Do I have to retake the NCE or NCMHCE to get licensed in Montana?

National exam is not retaken: Montana accepts either the NBCC NCE or the NCMHCE for the LCPC, with proof sent directly from NBCC. No Montana jurisprudence exam is listed for LCPC applicants.

How much does a Montana counseling license cost by endorsement?

$200 (LCPC application fee per the Board's LCPC checklist; fingerprint/background-check cost paid separately (not stated on the pages read))

How long does Montana take to process the application?

the Board publishes no processing timeframe for LCPC applications.

Is Montana in the Counseling Compact?

Montana has enacted the compact but was not yet operational as of 2026-09-27, so it neither issues nor accepts privileges. For now you need Montana's own authorization, normally a Montana license, to practice with clients located in Montana.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]