Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Counseling License from Ohio to Missouri: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) ↗

A counseling license transfers from Ohio to Missouri by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration), verify your Ohio license, and meet Missouri's endorsement requirements. No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Missouri has enacted the Counseling Compact but was not issuing or accepting privileges as of 2026-09-27, so your Ohio license cannot reach it through the compact yet. The route is endorsement through the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration): your Ohio license is verified, your NCE or NCMHCE score is credited under Missouri's own exam rule, and Missouri applies any jurisprudence and background checks it requires. Check which Missouri tier corresponds to your Ohio license before you file, because the titles do not map one to one.

What changes, Ohio → Missouri

Side-by-side: Ohio vs Missouri (Counseling (LPC / LMHC)), verified 2026-09-27
Ohio (current)Missouri (destination)
Counseling Compact statusCounseling Compact member — compact privilege to practiceCounseling Compact enacted — not yet issuing
Application fee$100 (LPCC reciprocity application fee per OAC 4757-1-05 and the Board's out-of-state page ('$100 + $3.50 processing', re-read 2026-09-27); + $3.50 eLicense processing fee; BCI/FBI fingerprinting paid separately to the vendor; NBCC score-transfer fee separate. NOT the Counseling Compact privilege fee (Ohio charges $25 + $30 commission admin fee = $55 for a privilege, per the commission's fee table).)$100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))
Processing timethe Board publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications; applicants track status in eLicense (Review Status checklist)the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications
Licensing authorityOhio Counselor, Social Worker and Marriage and Family Therapist Board (CSWMFT)Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Missouri sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Missouri's current requirements on the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration) (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold full (independent, not supervised or provisional) professional counselor licensure in another state for at least 1 year.
  5. Have no past or current discipline and no pending complaint on the out-of-state license.
  6. Complete a fingerprint background check through MACHS.
  7. Pass the open-book Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam.
  8. Submit proof of 2 hours of suicide prevention training.
  9. Submit a notarized reciprocity application with license verification and proof of lawful presence.
  10. Pay the fees ($100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))) and allow the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Missouri accept an Ohio counseling license?

A counseling license transfers from Ohio to Missouri by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Missouri Committee for Professional Counselors (Division of Professional Registration), verify your Ohio license, and meet Missouri's endorsement requirements. No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived..

Do I retake the NCE or NCMHCE moving from Ohio to Missouri?

No national exam is retaken. The Committee's LPC reciprocity checklist (RSMo 324.009 path) does not require NCE/NCMHCE score submission; eligibility rests on at least 1 year of full licensure in another state. Reciprocity applicants must pass the open-book online Missouri Jurisprudence (Legal and Ethical Responsibilities) Exam, which the Committee says cannot be waived.

What does the move cost?

$100 (LPC Application for Licensure by Reciprocity fee (form MO 375-1100); waived with proof of military service; MACHS fingerprint fee paid separately to the vendor (amount not stated on the pages read))

How long will it take?

the Committee publishes no processing timeframe for reciprocity applications.

Missouri joined the Counseling Compact. Can I use a privilege there?

Not yet. Missouri had enacted the compact but was not issuing or accepting privileges as of 2026-09-27, so counseling clients located in Missouri takes Missouri's own authorization, normally a Missouri license.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]