Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Transfer Your Occupational Therapy License to Arizona: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners ↗

Not through the compact yet. Arizona has passed the OT Compact into law but was not issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27, so you transfer by endorsement with the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. The fee is $235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).) and processing runs A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license; your NBCOT result is verified by Score Transfer or Verification of Certification.

Moving to Arizona from a specific state?

Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

OT Compact enacted — not yet issuing

Arizona's compact status reads better on paper than it works in practice. The legislature has enacted the OT Compact, but the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners was not accepting privilege applications as of 2026-09-27, so for now Arizona works like a non-member: nobody practices there on a privilege, and OTs who live there cannot buy privileges elsewhere. Plan on endorsement. This page will change when Arizona goes live.

Arizona has enacted the OT Compact but is NOT yet issuing or accepting compact privileges (Commission status 'Not Yet' as of 2026-09-27). Arizona has no path called 'endorsement'. An OT licensed elsewhere who has never held an Arizona license (or whose Arizona license lapsed more than 180 days ago) and has passed the NBCOT exam uses the 'Licensure by Examination' online application; the exam is not retaken. An OT who has established Arizona residency, has held a license elsewhere for at least one year, and has no discipline or pending investigation can instead apply by universal license recognition. Practice before the license issues is prohibited. Arizona also issues limited licenses. The Board's site blocked automated access on 2026-09-27, so its pages were read from Internet Archive copies; the Board's 'find a therapist' lookup URL could not be confirmed.

Arizona requirements at a glance

Out-of-state occupational therapy license transfer requirements for Arizona, verified 2026-09-27
ExamThe NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules.
Additional requirements
  • Complete the academic requirements of an OT educational program and a period of supervised fieldwork (A.R.S. 32-3423)
  • Hold a valid Arizona DPS fingerprint clearance card (A.R.S. 32-3430); the Board does not issue them
  • Submit the Statement of Citizenship form with proof of lawful presence (A.R.S. 41-1080)
  • Have every state where you have held a medical professional license, current or expired, send verification directly to the Board
  • For universal license recognition only: prove established Arizona residency and at least one year of licensure elsewhere with no discipline or pending investigation
Fees$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)
Processing timeA.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license

Step by step

  1. Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners website — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (application linked on this page).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Complete the academic requirements of an OT educational program and a period of supervised fieldwork (A.R.S. 32-3423).
  5. Hold a valid Arizona DPS fingerprint clearance card (A.R.S. 32-3430); the Board does not issue them.
  6. Submit the Statement of Citizenship form with proof of lawful presence (A.R.S. 41-1080).
  7. Have every state where you have held a medical professional license, current or expired, send verification directly to the Board.
  8. For universal license recognition only: prove established Arizona residency and at least one year of licensure elsewhere with no discipline or pending investigation.
  9. Pay the fees ($235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)) and allow A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Official links

Coming from a specific state?

Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Arizona:

Nearby states

Occupational Therapy license transfer into the states bordering Arizona:

Arizona for other professions

Frequently asked questions

Does my occupational therapy license transfer to Arizona?

Not through the compact yet. Arizona has passed the OT Compact into law but was not issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27, so you transfer by endorsement with the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. The fee is $235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).) and processing runs A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license; your NBCOT result is verified by Score Transfer or Verification of Certification.

Do I have to retake the NBCOT exam to get licensed in Arizona?

No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules.

How much does an OT license by endorsement cost in Arizona?

$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).).

How long does Arizona take to issue an OT license by endorsement?

A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Is Arizona an OT Compact state?

Arizona has enacted the compact but was not accepting applications or issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27. Until it goes live, endorsement is the only way to practice in Arizona.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]