Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Occupational Therapy License from California to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners ↗

A occupational therapy license transfers from California to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your California license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

The compact plays no part here, since neither state is issuing privileges. You apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners as an OT licensed in another state, with NBCOT passage verified and your California license confirmed, plus whatever Arizona adds such as fingerprints or a jurisprudence exam.

What changes, California → Arizona

Side-by-side: California vs Arizona (Occupational Therapy (OT/OTA)), verified 2026-09-27
California (current)Arizona (destination)
OT Compact statusLicensure by endorsementOT Compact enacted — not yet issuing
Application fee$50 ($50 application fee paid in BreEZe. A separate initial license fee, prorated by your birth date and the month of issue, is stated in the approval letter and paid after approval, so it is not in this range. + $49 fingerprint-card fee if you are not using Live Scan (Live Scan fees are paid to the vendor).)$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)
Processing time3–4 weeks (the Board states 'Processing time for all applications is 3-4 weeks'; 16 CCR 4112 gives the Board 30 days to review an application and notify the applicant of any deficiency; licenses issue once the approved applicant completes the online form and pays the initial license fee)A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license
Licensing authorityCalifornia Board of Occupational TherapyArizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Complete the academic requirements of an OT educational program and a period of supervised fieldwork (A.R.S. 32-3423).
  5. Hold a valid Arizona DPS fingerprint clearance card (A.R.S. 32-3430); the Board does not issue them.
  6. Submit the Statement of Citizenship form with proof of lawful presence (A.R.S. 41-1080).
  7. Have every state where you have held a medical professional license, current or expired, send verification directly to the Board.
  8. For universal license recognition only: prove established Arizona residency and at least one year of licensure elsewhere with no discipline or pending investigation.
  9. Pay the fees ($235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)) and allow A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Can I use my California occupational therapy license in Arizona?

A occupational therapy license transfers from California to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your California license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..

Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from California to Arizona?

No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules.

How much does a Arizona OT license cost for someone licensed in California?

$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).).

How long does Arizona take to process the application?

A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Can I use the OT Compact to work in Arizona?

Not for this move. Arizona has enacted the OT Compact but was not issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27. A Arizona license by endorsement is required.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]