Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Occupational Therapy License from Georgia to Maryland: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice ↗

A occupational therapy license transfers from Georgia to Maryland by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, verify your Georgia license, and meet Maryland's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Georgia isn't issuing OT Compact privileges, so you start with endorsement into Maryland through the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. The payoff comes afterward: Maryland does issue privileges, so once Maryland is your home state and your Maryland license is active, you can practice in the other issuing states on privileges instead of separate licenses.

What changes, Georgia → Maryland

Side-by-side: Georgia vs Maryland (Occupational Therapy (OT/OTA)), verified 2026-09-27
Georgia (current)Maryland (destination)
OT Compact statusOT Compact enacted — not yet issuingOT Compact member — compact privilege to practice
Application fee$60 (OT application fee per the Board's application for licensure (form dated 04/24/2023; OTA $50); + $5 online processing fee (Board fee schedule rev. 03-03-22; applications are now online-only through GOALS); + GAPS fingerprinting fee. The OT line on the fee schedule PDF is blank in the rendered file, and the current GOALS fee schedule could not be read by automated fetch. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Georgia's future state fee as $75 for OTs).)$200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.)
Processing time4–6 weeks (the Board's application states 'It takes approximately 4 - 6 weeks to process a complete application for licensure'; applications are processed in order of receipt, and incomplete applications are withdrawn if deficiencies are not cured within 60 days)The Board publishes no processing timeframe.
Licensing authorityGeorgia State Board of Occupational Therapy (Secretary of State, Professional Licensing Boards Division)Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Maryland sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Maryland's current requirements on the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
  4. Submit the Application for Licensure (paper or online) with the $200 fee.
  5. Complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam.
  6. Complete a State and FBI Criminal History Records Check (CJIS LiveScan); results are valid for only 30 days, so submit the application within 30 days of fingerprinting.
  7. Provide license verifications from every state or country where you have been licensed (screenshots from board verification sites are accepted).
  8. If NBCOT certification is not current, or you graduated more than one year ago, or you have been out of practice 3+ years, submit Continuing Competency Requirement documentation (24 contact hours).
  9. Pay the fees ($200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.)) and allow The Board publishes no processing timeframe..

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Can I use my Georgia occupational therapy license in Maryland?

A occupational therapy license transfers from Georgia to Maryland by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, verify your Georgia license, and meet Maryland's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online..

Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from Georgia to Maryland?

No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online.

How much does a Maryland OT license cost for someone licensed in Georgia?

$200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.).

How long does Maryland take to process the application?

The Board publishes no processing timeframe..

Can I use the OT Compact to work in Maryland?

Not for this move. Maryland issues privileges, but only to therapists whose home state is also issuing; Georgia is not. A Maryland license by endorsement is required.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]