Transfer Your Occupational Therapy License to Maryland: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice ↗
Yes, with a choice of routes. Maryland issues and accepts OT Compact privileges, so an OT or OTA licensed in, and living in, another issuing state can practice in Maryland on a privilege. Relocating to Maryland, or holding a license from a state that isn't issuing, means a Maryland license by endorsement through the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice: $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.), processing The Board publishes no processing timeframe., no NBCOT retake.
Moving to Maryland from a specific state?
Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.
Verdict
OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice
Decide first whether you are working in Maryland or moving to Maryland, because the paperwork differs. Working there while you live in, and stay licensed by, another issuing state is what the compact privilege is for: you apply through the commission, not the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, and your home license stays put. Moving there makes Maryland your home state, which means a Maryland license, either by converting a privilege where the board offers that route or by endorsement. After that, Maryland can anchor privileges of its own.
Maryland is one of the eight states ISSUING OT Compact privileges, live since April 15, 2026. An OT who lives in and is licensed by another issuing state can practice in Maryland on a privilege instead of getting a Maryland license. The privilege costs $125 (Maryland fee) plus the $75 Commission fee, and Maryland's jurisprudence requirement applies. For a full license, anyone licensed elsewhere uses the same initial-license application. A temporary license is only for exam candidates and needs NBCOT's confirmation of exam registration and eligibility. The Board publishes a Servicemember and Military Spouse Residency and Recognition document for military applicants. Licenses renew every two years.
Maryland requirements at a glance
| Exam | The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online. |
|---|---|
| Additional requirements |
|
| Fees | $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.) |
| Processing time | The Board publishes no processing timeframe. |
Step by step
- Confirm Maryland's current requirements on the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice website — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (application linked on this page).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Submit the Application for Licensure (paper or online) with the $200 fee.
- Complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam.
- Complete a State and FBI Criminal History Records Check (CJIS LiveScan); results are valid for only 30 days, so submit the application within 30 days of fingerprinting.
- Provide license verifications from every state or country where you have been licensed (screenshots from board verification sites are accepted).
- If NBCOT certification is not current, or you graduated more than one year ago, or you have been out of practice 3+ years, submit Continuing Competency Requirement documentation (24 contact hours).
- Pay the fees ($200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.)) and allow The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Official links
Coming from a specific state?
Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Maryland:
Nearby states
Occupational Therapy license transfer into the states bordering Maryland:
Maryland for other professions
- Nursing in Maryland
- Cosmetology / Barber in Maryland
- Real Estate in Maryland
- Contractor in Maryland
- Teaching in Maryland
- CPA / Accounting in Maryland
- Electrician in Maryland
- Plumber in Maryland
- Engineering in Maryland
- Pharmacy in Maryland
- Physical Therapy in Maryland
- Psychology in Maryland
- Counseling in Maryland
- Social Work in Maryland
Frequently asked questions
Does my occupational therapy license transfer to Maryland?
Yes, with a choice of routes. Maryland issues and accepts OT Compact privileges, so an OT or OTA licensed in, and living in, another issuing state can practice in Maryland on a privilege. Relocating to Maryland, or holding a license from a state that isn't issuing, means a Maryland license by endorsement through the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice: $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.), processing The Board publishes no processing timeframe., no NBCOT retake.
Do I have to retake the NBCOT exam to get licensed in Maryland?
No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online.
How much does an OT license by endorsement cost in Maryland?
$200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.).
How long does Maryland take to issue an OT license by endorsement?
The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Is Maryland an OT Compact state?
Yes. Maryland is issuing and accepting OT Compact privileges as of 2026-09-27. An OT or OTA who lives in and is licensed by another issuing state can practice in Maryland on a privilege; moving your residence to Maryland requires a Maryland license.
What does a Maryland OT Compact privilege cost?
The uniform $75 commission fee plus Maryland's own privilege fee, paid through the commission. The privilege expires with your home-state license and must be purchased again after each home renewal.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Forms (Necessary Forms for an Initial License) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Application for Licensure (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Applicant's Checklist (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- COMAR 10.46.05 Collection of Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission — Before You Apply (Maryland accepting applications since April 15, 2026; $125 privilege fee; jurisprudence required) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]