Occupational Therapy License from New York to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners ↗
A occupational therapy license transfers from New York to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your New York license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
The compact plays no part here, since neither state is issuing privileges. You apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners as an OT licensed in another state, with NBCOT passage verified and your New York license confirmed, plus whatever Arizona adds such as fingerprints or a jurisprudence exam.
What changes, New York → Arizona
| New York (current) | Arizona (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| OT Compact status | Licensure by endorsement | OT Compact enacted — not yet issuing |
| Application fee | $294 (Licensure and first registration fee for an OT ($147 for an OTA). An online application must be paid by credit card. A limited permit costs $70, non-refundable. Fees are subject to change; the fee in law when NYSED receives the application applies.) | $235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).) |
| Processing time | NYSED publishes no processing timeframe for OT applications. | A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license |
| Licensing authority | New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions — State Board for Occupational Therapy | Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Complete the academic requirements of an OT educational program and a period of supervised fieldwork (A.R.S. 32-3423).
- Hold a valid Arizona DPS fingerprint clearance card (A.R.S. 32-3430); the Board does not issue them.
- Submit the Statement of Citizenship form with proof of lawful presence (A.R.S. 41-1080).
- Have every state where you have held a medical professional license, current or expired, send verification directly to the Board.
- For universal license recognition only: prove established Arizona residency and at least one year of licensure elsewhere with no discipline or pending investigation.
- Pay the fees ($235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)) and allow A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Can I use my New York occupational therapy license in Arizona?
A occupational therapy license transfers from New York to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your New York license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..
Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from New York to Arizona?
No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules.
How much does a Arizona OT license cost for someone licensed in New York?
$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).).
How long does Arizona take to process the application?
A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.
Can I use the OT Compact to work in Arizona?
Not for this move. Arizona has enacted the OT Compact but was not issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27. A Arizona license by endorsement is required.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.
- Arizona Board of OT Examiners, Licensure by Examination (Internet Archive copy of 2025-05-23; live site returned a Cloudflare challenge / HTTP 403 on 2026-09-27) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Arizona Board of OT Examiners, Licensure by Universal License Recognition (Internet Archive copy of 2025-05-23) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Arizona Board of OT Examiners, FAQ (Internet Archive copy of 2026-05-01) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission, Before You Apply (Arizona: Not Yet accepting applications) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- NYSED Office of the Professions — License Requirements for Occupational Therapists ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- NYSED Office of the Professions — Application Forms for Occupational Therapists (Forms 1, 2, 2F, 3) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]