Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Occupational Therapy License from North Carolina to Arizona: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners ↗

A occupational therapy license transfers from North Carolina to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your North Carolina license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

North Carolina and Arizona have both enacted the OT Compact, and neither was issuing privileges as of the verification date, so this is an ordinary endorsement move. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners; your NBCOT result is verified by Score Transfer or Verification of Certification. If both states go live, working in Arizona while living in North Carolina could later be done on a privilege.

What changes, North Carolina → Arizona

Side-by-side: North Carolina vs Arizona (Occupational Therapy (OT/OTA)), verified 2026-09-27
North Carolina (current)Arizona (destination)
OT Compact statusOT Compact enacted — not yet issuingOT Compact enacted — not yet issuing
Application fee$110 ($10 online application packet plus the $100 non-refundable initial license fee. The $100 fee is waived for military-trained applicants and military spouses who provide orders and ID. Annual renewal is $50 (licenses expire June 30). The Commission lists North Carolina's future privilege fee as TBD, not payable yet.)$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)
Processing time1–2 weeks (Board FAQ: application requests are normally processed within a week, and licenses are 'usually issued on Fridays within one (1) to two (2) weeks after the application and all required documentation is received and processed'.)A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license
Licensing authorityNorth Carolina Board of Occupational TherapyArizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Arizona sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Arizona's current requirements on the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Complete the academic requirements of an OT educational program and a period of supervised fieldwork (A.R.S. 32-3423).
  5. Hold a valid Arizona DPS fingerprint clearance card (A.R.S. 32-3430); the Board does not issue them.
  6. Submit the Statement of Citizenship form with proof of lawful presence (A.R.S. 41-1080).
  7. Have every state where you have held a medical professional license, current or expired, send verification directly to the Board.
  8. For universal license recognition only: prove established Arizona residency and at least one year of licensure elsewhere with no discipline or pending investigation.
  9. Pay the fees ($235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).)) and allow A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Can I use my North Carolina occupational therapy license in Arizona?

A occupational therapy license transfers from North Carolina to Arizona by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Arizona Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, verify your North Carolina license, and meet Arizona's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules..

Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from North Carolina to Arizona?

No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. On the standard path used by out-of-state OTs who have never held an Arizona license, the Board requires an NBCOT Score Transfer sent directly to the Board. Its FAQ calls this a 'verification of certificate'. The universal-license-recognition checklist for Arizona residents does not list an NBCOT step. The Board does not say whether NBCOT certification must be current. There is no separate jurisprudence exam: applicants attest in the application that they have read the Arizona statutes and rules.

How much does a Arizona OT license cost for someone licensed in North Carolina?

$235 (total OT fees stated on the Licensure by Examination page, which is the path for anyone who has never held an Arizona license (OTA $170); fees are set in A.A.C. R4-43-102. The universal-license-recognition page does not state its fee. Initial-license fees are waived for low-income applicants, military spouses and recently discharged veterans. + fingerprint clearance card cost paid to Arizona DPS. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Commission lists Arizona's state fee as $0).).

How long does Arizona take to process the application?

A.A.C. R4-43-205 gives the Board 60 days to review an application; the FAQ says applications are generally approved at the beginning of each month and licenses are mailed five working days after approval, and recommends applying at least one month before you need the license.

Can I use the OT Compact to work in Arizona?

Not for this move. Arizona has enacted the OT Compact but was not issuing privileges as of 2026-09-27. A Arizona license by endorsement is required.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]