Occupational Therapy License from Pennsylvania to Maryland: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice ↗
A occupational therapy license transfers from Pennsylvania to Maryland by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Maryland's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online..
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Pennsylvania isn't issuing OT Compact privileges, so you start with endorsement into Maryland through the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. The payoff comes afterward: Maryland does issue privileges, so once Maryland is your home state and your Maryland license is active, you can practice in the other issuing states on privileges instead of separate licenses.
What changes, Pennsylvania → Maryland
| Pennsylvania (current) | Maryland (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| OT Compact status | OT Compact enacted — not yet issuing | OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice |
| Application fee | $30 (application for license fee, the same for OT and OTA (49 Pa. Code 42.17; the Board's Licensure Snapshot shows a $30 initial fee). The Act 41 endorsement route charges the same 42.17 application fee (42.9(a)(5)). Biennial renewal is $55 (OTA $45). The fee schedule also lists a $20 temporary license. No fingerprint/background-check fee was found in the Board materials read. No OT Compact privilege fee exists yet (Pennsylvania is not issuing privileges).) | $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.) |
| Processing time | the Department of State publishes processing guides and timelines only for certain boards, and none covers occupational therapy. Applications are filed and tracked in PALS, and the Board may require an interview (Act 41 route) | The Board publishes no processing timeframe. |
| Licensing authority | Pennsylvania State Board of Occupational Therapy Education and Licensure (Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs, Department of State) | Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Maryland sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Maryland's current requirements on the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Submit the Application for Licensure (paper or online) with the $200 fee.
- Complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam.
- Complete a State and FBI Criminal History Records Check (CJIS LiveScan); results are valid for only 30 days, so submit the application within 30 days of fingerprinting.
- Provide license verifications from every state or country where you have been licensed (screenshots from board verification sites are accepted).
- If NBCOT certification is not current, or you graduated more than one year ago, or you have been out of practice 3+ years, submit Continuing Competency Requirement documentation (24 contact hours).
- Pay the fees ($200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.)) and allow The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Can I use my Pennsylvania occupational therapy license in Maryland?
A occupational therapy license transfers from Pennsylvania to Maryland by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Maryland's endorsement requirements. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online..
Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from Pennsylvania to Maryland?
No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online.
How much does a Maryland OT license cost for someone licensed in Pennsylvania?
$200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.).
How long does Maryland take to process the application?
The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Can I use the OT Compact to work in Maryland?
Not for this move. Maryland issues privileges, but only to therapists whose home state is also issuing; Pennsylvania is not. A Maryland license by endorsement is required.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Forms (Necessary Forms for an Initial License) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Application for Licensure (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Applicant's Checklist (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- COMAR 10.46.05 Collection of Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission — Before You Apply (Maryland accepting applications since April 15, 2026; $125 privilege fee; jurisprudence required) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- PA Department of State — Occupational Therapist Licensure Snapshot (requirements, $30 initial fee, Act 41) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- PA State Board of Occupational Therapy Education and Licensure — board page ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- 49 Pa. Code § 42.9 — Licensure by endorsement (Act 41) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- 49 Pa. Code § 42.12 — Waiver of licensure examination ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- 49 Pa. Code § 42.13 — Application for licensure ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- 49 Pa. Code § 42.17 — Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission — Compact Map dataset (Pennsylvania: Enacted, HB 482 / SB 571) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]