Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Transfer Your Social Work License to Indiana: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) ↗

A clinical social work license moves to Indiana through licensure by endorsement with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency): license verification, your ASWB score sent by score transfer, and Indiana's own checks. Expect $50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.); processing No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.. Indiana has not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Moving to Indiana from a specific state?

Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Indiana has not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact, which matters less than it sounds: the compact is not issuing licenses anywhere yet, so every social worker moving to any state follows that state's own licensing process, here the one below.

Indiana's clinical-level license is the LCSW, with the LSW (master's) and LBSW below it. Out-of-state clinical social workers apply by reciprocity: an active equal-level license, the ASWB Clinical exam, no pending discipline, a background check and the $50 fee. Supervised experience is not re-documented on that route. Applicants who never passed the ASWB exam at the same or a higher level must apply by examination instead. Indiana has NOT enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact. in.gov refused automated connections on 2026-09-27, so the Board's pages were read from Internet Archive copies of the official pages (licensing information captured 2026-07-08; reciprocity instructions captured 2024-02-18). The fee was confirmed against the current rule, 839 IAC 1-2-5.

Indiana requirements at a glance

Out-of-state social work license transfer requirements for Indiana, verified 2026-09-27
ExamThe ASWB exam is not retaken: reciprocity applicants have ASWB send an official score report showing a pass on the ASWB Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (only the Clinical exam qualifies for the LCSW; 839 IAC 1-2-1(c)). If your out-of-state license was not based on an ASWB exam at the same or a higher level, you must apply by examination instead. The Board's reciprocity instructions (archived February 2024) also require LSW and LCSW reciprocity applicants to pass a 30-question Indiana jurisprudence exam (statutes and rules, 75% to pass) emailed after Board approval; the current online LCSW reciprocity checklist (archived July 2026) does not list it, so confirm with the Board.
Additional requirements
  • Hold an active clinical social work license of equal level in another state with no pending disciplinary proceeding (IC 25-23.6-5-10.5, as cited by the Board)
  • Have ASWB send an official score report showing you passed the Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
  • Have each state that licenses you send verification of your license (copies of license cards are not accepted)
  • Complete a national fingerprint-based criminal background check at your cost, after you submit the application
  • Apply online and pay the $50 application fee
Fees$50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.)
Processing timeNo processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Indiana's current requirements on the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) website — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) (application linked on this page).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
  4. Hold an active clinical social work license of equal level in another state with no pending disciplinary proceeding (IC 25-23.6-5-10.5, as cited by the Board).
  5. Have ASWB send an official score report showing you passed the Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
  6. Have each state that licenses you send verification of your license (copies of license cards are not accepted).
  7. Complete a national fingerprint-based criminal background check at your cost, after you submit the application.
  8. Apply online and pay the $50 application fee.
  9. Pay the fees ($50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.)) and allow No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year..

Official links

Coming from a specific state?

Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Indiana:

Nearby states

Social Work license transfer into the states bordering Indiana:

Indiana for other professions

Frequently asked questions

Does my social work license transfer to Indiana?

A clinical social work license moves to Indiana through licensure by endorsement with the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency): license verification, your ASWB score sent by score transfer, and Indiana's own checks. Expect $50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.); processing No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.. Indiana has not enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact.

Do I have to retake the ASWB exam to get licensed in Indiana?

The ASWB exam is not retaken: reciprocity applicants have ASWB send an official score report showing a pass on the ASWB Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (only the Clinical exam qualifies for the LCSW; 839 IAC 1-2-1(c)). If your out-of-state license was not based on an ASWB exam at the same or a higher level, you must apply by examination instead. The Board's reciprocity instructions (archived February 2024) also require LSW and LCSW reciprocity applicants to pass a 30-question Indiana jurisprudence exam (statutes and rules, 75% to pass) emailed after Board approval; the current online LCSW reciprocity checklist (archived July 2026) does not list it, so confirm with the Board. ASWB sends the score for $40 per transfer, requested in ASWBCentral, and delivery takes 7-10 business days.

How much does an Indiana clinical social work license cost for an out-of-state applicant?

$50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.)

How long does the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) take?

No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.

Is Indiana in the Social Work Licensure Compact?

No. Indiana had not enacted it as of 2026-09-27. Endorsement through the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) is the route in.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]