Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Social Work License from North Carolina to Indiana: Does It Transfer? (2026)

Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) ↗

A social work license transfers from North Carolina to Indiana by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency), verify your North Carolina license, and meet Indiana's endorsement requirements. The ASWB exam is not retaken: reciprocity applicants have ASWB send an official score report showing a pass on the ASWB Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (only the Clinical exam qualifies for the LCSW; 839 IAC 1-2-1(c)). If your out-of-state license was not based on an ASWB exam at the same or a higher level, you must apply by examination instead. The Board's reciprocity instructions (archived February 2024) also require LSW and LCSW reciprocity applicants to pass a 30-question Indiana jurisprudence exam (statutes and rules, 75% to pass) emailed after Board approval; the current online LCSW reciprocity checklist (archived July 2026) does not list it, so confirm with the Board..

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

The compact question does not arise here. North Carolina has enacted the Social Work Licensure Compact and Indiana has not, but nothing is being issued in either, so the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency)'s endorsement process below is the whole route.

What changes, North Carolina → Indiana

Side-by-side: North Carolina vs Indiana (Social Work (LCSW / LICSW)), verified 2026-09-27
North Carolina (current)Indiana (destination)
SW Compact statusSW Compact enacted — not yet issuingLicensure by endorsement
Application fee$145 ($145 nonrefundable application fee per credential level, by certified check, money order or cashier's check (no personal checks). LCSW biennial renewal is $150. The Board may run a criminal or disciplinary history check; no separate fee is stated.)$50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.)
Processing time~4 weeks (The Board says review and processing generally take at least 30 days once the application is complete and may be extended; no upper bound is published.)No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.
Licensing authorityNorth Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (NCSWCLB)Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Indiana sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Indiana's current requirements on the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
  4. Hold an active clinical social work license of equal level in another state with no pending disciplinary proceeding (IC 25-23.6-5-10.5, as cited by the Board).
  5. Have ASWB send an official score report showing you passed the Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
  6. Have each state that licenses you send verification of your license (copies of license cards are not accepted).
  7. Complete a national fingerprint-based criminal background check at your cost, after you submit the application.
  8. Apply online and pay the $50 application fee.
  9. Pay the fees ($50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.)) and allow No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year..

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Indiana accept a North Carolina social work license?

A social work license transfers from North Carolina to Indiana by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency), verify your North Carolina license, and meet Indiana's endorsement requirements. The ASWB exam is not retaken: reciprocity applicants have ASWB send an official score report showing a pass on the ASWB Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (only the Clinical exam qualifies for the LCSW; 839 IAC 1-2-1(c)). If your out-of-state license was not based on an ASWB exam at the same or a higher level, you must apply by examination instead. The Board's reciprocity instructions (archived February 2024) also require LSW and LCSW reciprocity applicants to pass a 30-question Indiana jurisprudence exam (statutes and rules, 75% to pass) emailed after Board approval; the current online LCSW reciprocity checklist (archived July 2026) does not list it, so confirm with the Board..

Do I retake the ASWB exam moving from North Carolina to Indiana?

The ASWB exam is not retaken: reciprocity applicants have ASWB send an official score report showing a pass on the ASWB Clinical exam directly to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency (only the Clinical exam qualifies for the LCSW; 839 IAC 1-2-1(c)). If your out-of-state license was not based on an ASWB exam at the same or a higher level, you must apply by examination instead. The Board's reciprocity instructions (archived February 2024) also require LSW and LCSW reciprocity applicants to pass a 30-question Indiana jurisprudence exam (statutes and rules, 75% to pass) emailed after Board approval; the current online LCSW reciprocity checklist (archived July 2026) does not list it, so confirm with the Board. ASWB sends the score for $40 per transfer, requested in ASWBCentral, and delivery takes 7-10 business days.

What does the North Carolina-to-Indiana move cost and how long does it take?

$50 ($50 nonrefundable application/issuance fee for a clinical social worker license (839 IAC 1-2-5(b), readopted 2024; the Board's July 2026 LCSW reciprocity checklist also lists $50). Fingerprint background-check vendor fees are extra and not stated by the Board. Renewal is $50 every two years; licenses expire April 1 of even years.) Processing: No processing time is published for LCSW reciprocity. The Board says only that it takes 7-10 business days to process exam results once received. Applications are abandoned if not completed within one year.

Does the Social Work Licensure Compact help with this move?

No. North Carolina has enacted it and Indiana has not, and the compact was not issuing multistate licenses anywhere as of 2026-09-27. Endorsement through the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) is the route.

Will Indiana accept the supervised hours I completed in North Carolina?

Most boards credit supervised experience completed under another state's rules, but some compare it with their own requirement. Indiana's rule, where the Indiana Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board (Professional Licensing Agency) publishes one, is in the requirements on this page; confirm with the board if your hours were logged under a different structure.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.

Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]