Transfer Your Teaching License to District of Columbia: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)
District of Columbia does not simply swap your teaching license — "reciprocity" here means the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing reviews your credential and issues its own District of Columbia certificate. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams. Fee: $50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date).
Moving to District of Columbia from a specific state?
Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
The framing that matters for District of Columbia: you are applying for a District of Columbia certificate, not carrying yours across. The Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing issues its own certificate on review of your out-of-state one, so the work is to have every document and test score it asks for ready when you apply — gaps are what slow a review. The requirements below are District of Columbia's list.
Reciprocity is a misnomer - DC (OSSE) does not auto-exchange a license; a holder of an active full out-of-state credential may be issued the DC Standard Teacher Credential (4-year, renewable) via the out-of-state (reciprocity) pathway, applied only on the first DC application. DC exams (Praxis) are waived only if you provide passing scores from comparable exams in the state where your active full credential is held; otherwise DC's prescribed exams are required. An FBI IHSC background check and official transcripts are required. Current fee is $50 per credential area, but OSSE has posted a new fee schedule effective 2026-10-01 - confirm nearer that date.
District of Columbia requirements at a glance
| Exam | Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams |
|---|---|
| Additional requirements |
|
| Fees | $50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date) |
| Processing time | Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages |
Step by step
- Confirm District of Columbia's current requirements on the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing website — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing (application linked on this page).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Hold an active, full educator credential/license from another US state or territory (reciprocity may be applied only on your first DC educator-credential application).
- Complete an FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) background check.
- Submit official transcripts from your degree-granting institution(s).
- Provide passing scores on comparable out-of-state licensing exams, or pass the prescribed District of Columbia (Praxis) exams.
- Pay the fees ($50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Official links
Coming from a specific state?
Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into District of Columbia:
Nearby states
Teaching license transfer into the states bordering District of Columbia:
District of Columbia for other professions
- Nursing in District of Columbia
- Cosmetology / Barber in District of Columbia
- Real Estate in District of Columbia
- Contractor in District of Columbia
- CPA / Accounting in District of Columbia
- Electrician in District of Columbia
- Plumber in District of Columbia
- Engineering in District of Columbia
- Pharmacy in District of Columbia
- Physical Therapy in District of Columbia
- Psychology in District of Columbia
- Counseling in District of Columbia
- Social Work in District of Columbia
- Occupational Therapy in District of Columbia
Frequently asked questions
Does my teaching license transfer to District of Columbia?
District of Columbia does not simply swap your teaching license — "reciprocity" here means the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing reviews your credential and issues its own District of Columbia certificate. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams. Fee: $50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date).
Is teaching reciprocity automatic in District of Columbia?
No. District of Columbia reviews your out-of-state certificate and issues its own; it is the right to apply, not an instant swap.
What tests or requirements does District of Columbia add?
Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
What does a District of Columbia out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?
$50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- OSSE - Out-of-State Credential Holders (Reciprocity) (active full credential, IHSC, comparable/DC exams, $50 fee, first-application only) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Standard Teacher Credential (4-year renewable; Option 3 out-of-state pathway; exam waiver with comparable out-of-state scores) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule ($50 per credential area) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]