Teaching License from Florida to Alabama: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Florida to Alabama by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section, verify your Florida license, and meet Alabama's endorsement requirements. Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Florida to Alabama is an application, not a transfer: Alabama reviews your Florida certificate and issues an Alabama certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Alabama still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Florida → Alabama
| Florida (current) | Alabama (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $75 ($75 processing fee per subject for an initial Florida certification application (non-refundable), per the FLDOE Certification Application Fee Schedule; district fingerprint/background screening costs are separate) | $30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional) |
| Processing time | A specific board processing time is not published on the reviewed FLDOE pages | Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores |
| Licensing authority | Florida Department of Education (FLDOE) - Bureau of Educator Certification | Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Alabama sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Alabama's current requirements on the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a valid professional educator certificate from another state, DC, a U.S. territory, or DoDEA in an area, grade level, and degree level comparable to an Alabama certificate.
- Verify an earned bachelor's or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution on official transcripts (teaching fields).
- Complete a criminal-history (fingerprint) background check under the Alabama Child Protection Act.
- Verify U.S. citizenship or lawful nationality/immigration status (Beason-Hammon Act).
- Meet the AECAP testing requirements prescribed for this approach; a 6-month window applies if testing is required.
- Apply online through the ALSDE ACE / AIM certification system.
- Pay the fees ($30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional)). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Alabama accept a Florida teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Florida to Alabama by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section, verify your Florida license, and meet Alabama's endorsement requirements. Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Florida to Alabama?
Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.
Can I teach in Alabama right away?
Not until the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section issues your Alabama certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Florida-to-Alabama transfer cost and how long does it take?
$30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- ALSDE — Out of State Certificate (Certificate Reciprocity approach) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-2 (Educator Certification) — Rule 290-3-2-.20 Certificates Issued by Another State Approach and 290-3-2-.02 ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- FLDOE - Certified Teacher or Administrator (two reciprocity routes to the Professional Certificate; comparable standard cert or NBPTS; FTCE not required; 3-year non-renewable Temporary Certificate) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- FLDOE - Certification Application Fee Schedule ($75 per subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]