Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Transfer Your Teaching License to Alabama: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)

Moving your teaching license to Alabama means applying to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section for its own certificate, not transferring the one you hold. Alabama issues its certificate on review of your out-of-state one; plan for the requirements below. Application fee: $30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional).

Moving to Alabama from a specific state?

Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

The framing that matters for Alabama: you are applying for an Alabama certificate, not carrying yours across. The Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section issues its own certificate on review of your out-of-state one, so the work is to have every document and test score it asks for ready when you apply — gaps are what slow a review. The requirements below are Alabama's list.

'Reciprocity' is a misnomer — Alabama does not auto-exchange an out-of-state license. Under Rule 290-3-2-.20 you APPLY and Alabama reviews your valid out-of-state professional certificate, degree, background check, citizenship, and AECAP requirements before issuing its own Professional Educator Certificate (valid through the current scholastic year plus five more, renewable). It is not a streamlined/full-reciprocity state.

Alabama requirements at a glance

Out-of-state teaching certificate transfer requirements for Alabama, verified 2026-07-21
ExamAlabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.
Additional requirements
  • Hold a valid professional educator certificate from another state, DC, a U.S. territory, or DoDEA in an area, grade level, and degree level comparable to an Alabama certificate
  • Verify an earned bachelor's or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution on official transcripts (teaching fields)
  • Complete a criminal-history (fingerprint) background check under the Alabama Child Protection Act
  • Verify U.S. citizenship or lawful nationality/immigration status (Beason-Hammon Act)
  • Meet the AECAP testing requirements prescribed for this approach; a 6-month window applies if testing is required
  • Apply online through the ALSDE ACE / AIM certification system
Fees$30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional)
Processing timeNot stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores

Step by step

  1. Confirm Alabama's current requirements on the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section website — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section (application linked on this page).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a valid professional educator certificate from another state, DC, a U.S. territory, or DoDEA in an area, grade level, and degree level comparable to an Alabama certificate.
  5. Verify an earned bachelor's or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution on official transcripts (teaching fields).
  6. Complete a criminal-history (fingerprint) background check under the Alabama Child Protection Act.
  7. Verify U.S. citizenship or lawful nationality/immigration status (Beason-Hammon Act).
  8. Meet the AECAP testing requirements prescribed for this approach; a 6-month window applies if testing is required.
  9. Apply online through the ALSDE ACE / AIM certification system.
  10. Pay the fees ($30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional)). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.

Official links

Coming from a specific state?

Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Alabama:

Nearby states

Teaching license transfer into the states bordering Alabama:

Alabama for other professions

Frequently asked questions

Does my teaching license transfer to Alabama?

Moving your teaching license to Alabama means applying to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section for its own certificate, not transferring the one you hold. Alabama issues its certificate on review of your out-of-state one; plan for the requirements below. Application fee: $30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional).

Is teaching reciprocity automatic in Alabama?

No. Alabama reviews your out-of-state certificate and issues its own; it is the right to apply, not an instant swap.

What tests or requirements does Alabama add?

Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.

What does an Alabama out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?

$30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]