Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Florida to District of Columbia: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Florida to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Florida license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Moving from Florida to District of Columbia is an application, not a transfer: District of Columbia reviews your Florida certificate and issues a District of Columbia certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what District of Columbia still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.

What changes, Florida → District of Columbia

Side-by-side: Florida vs District of Columbia (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-07-21
Florida (current)District of Columbia (destination)
Application fee$75 ($75 processing fee per subject for an initial Florida certification application (non-refundable), per the FLDOE Certification Application Fee Schedule; district fingerprint/background screening costs are separate)$50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date)
Processing timeA specific board processing time is not published on the reviewed FLDOE pagesNot stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages
Licensing authorityFlorida Department of Education (FLDOE) - Bureau of Educator CertificationOffice of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing

The destination column is what you must satisfy — District of Columbia sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm District of Columbia's current requirements on the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
  4. Hold an active, full educator credential/license from another US state or territory (reciprocity may be applied only on your first DC educator-credential application).
  5. Complete an FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) background check.
  6. Submit official transcripts from your degree-granting institution(s).
  7. Provide passing scores on comparable out-of-state licensing exams, or pass the prescribed District of Columbia (Praxis) exams.
  8. Pay the fees ($50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does District of Columbia accept a Florida teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Florida to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Florida license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.

Will I have to retake tests moving from Florida to District of Columbia?

Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.

Can I teach in District of Columbia right away?

Not until the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing issues your District of Columbia certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.

What does the Florida-to-District of Columbia transfer cost and how long does it take?

$50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]