Teaching License from Illinois to District of Columbia: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Illinois to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Illinois license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Illinois to District of Columbia is an application, not a transfer: District of Columbia reviews your Illinois certificate and issues a District of Columbia certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what District of Columbia still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Illinois → District of Columbia
| Illinois (current) | District of Columbia (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $150 ($150 PEL application fee for out-of-state (and out-of-country) applicants, assessed electronically in ELIS; license registration fees are additional and required before employment) | $50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date) |
| Processing time | Not stated on the reviewed ISBE application page | Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages |
| Licensing authority | Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) - Educator Licensure | Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — District of Columbia sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm District of Columbia's current requirements on the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Hold an active, full educator credential/license from another US state or territory (reciprocity may be applied only on your first DC educator-credential application).
- Complete an FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) background check.
- Submit official transcripts from your degree-granting institution(s).
- Provide passing scores on comparable out-of-state licensing exams, or pass the prescribed District of Columbia (Praxis) exams.
- Pay the fees ($50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does District of Columbia accept an Illinois teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Illinois to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Illinois license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Illinois to District of Columbia?
Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Can I teach in District of Columbia right away?
Not until the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing issues your District of Columbia certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Illinois-to-District of Columbia transfer cost and how long does it take?
$50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- OSSE - Out-of-State Credential Holders (Reciprocity) (active full credential, IHSC, comparable/DC exams, $50 fee, first-application only) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Standard Teacher Credential (4-year renewable; Option 3 out-of-state pathway; exam waiver with comparable out-of-state scores) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule ($50 per credential area) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- ISBE - Educator Licensure Application (Reciprocity / Out-of-State supporting documentation and fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- ISBE - Educator Licensure (requirements hub) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]