Transfer Your Teaching License to Kentucky: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)
Kentucky does not exchange your teaching license. The Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which Kentucky credential you qualify for and what you still need to complete. Application fee: $85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)).
Moving to Kentucky from a specific state?
Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Kentucky reviews out-of-state teachers case by case, so no page — this one included — can tell you in advance exactly what it will ask of you. Apply early: the review result is your real requirement list, and it decides which Kentucky credential you start on.
Reciprocity is a misnomer - Kentucky's own out-of-state page states a 'reciprocity' state does not automatically grant the same certification; under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement cases are evaluated individually and applicants must meet Kentucky's GPA, testing, and internship requirements (16 KAR 4:030). Praxis is waived only with two verified years of out-of-state experience; test-only credentials are not accepted. Verified via an archived EPSB page (content last modified 2020) because the live site was unreachable/migrating to KDE - confirm current fee/requirements at [email protected].
Kentucky requirements at a glance
| Exam | Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030) |
|---|---|
| Additional requirements |
|
| Fees | $85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)) |
| Processing time | Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page |
Step by step
- Confirm Kentucky's current requirements on the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) website — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program at a regionally accredited institution (or a state-approved alternative route).
- Submit application 'A' (CA-1, Application for Kentucky Certification) through the EPSB Online Document Submission portal.
- Provide a copy of your valid out-of-state teaching certificate (16 KAR 4:030).
- Meet Kentucky ancillary requirements - GPA, testing (Praxis via ETS), and internship.
- Submit official bachelor's (and graduate, if applicable) transcripts to KDE Certification.
- Pay the fees ($85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.
Official links
Coming from a specific state?
Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Kentucky:
Nearby states
Teaching license transfer into the states bordering Kentucky:
Kentucky for other professions
- Nursing in Kentucky
- Cosmetology / Barber in Kentucky
- Real Estate in Kentucky
- Contractor in Kentucky
- CPA / Accounting in Kentucky
- Electrician in Kentucky
- Plumber in Kentucky
- Engineering in Kentucky
- Pharmacy in Kentucky
- Physical Therapy in Kentucky
- Psychology in Kentucky
- Counseling in Kentucky
- Social Work in Kentucky
- Occupational Therapy in Kentucky
Frequently asked questions
Does my teaching license transfer to Kentucky?
Kentucky does not exchange your teaching license. The Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which Kentucky credential you qualify for and what you still need to complete. Application fee: $85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)).
Is teaching reciprocity automatic in Kentucky?
No. Kentucky reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which credential you qualify for and what remains.
What tests or requirements does Kentucky add?
Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).
What does a Kentucky out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?
$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]