Transfer Your Teaching License to New Jersey: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)
New Jersey does not exchange your teaching license. The New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which New Jersey credential you qualify for and what you still need to complete. Application fee: $70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)).
Moving to New Jersey from a specific state?
Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
New Jersey reviews out-of-state teachers case by case, so no page — this one included — can tell you in advance exactly what it will ask of you. Apply early: the review result is your real requirement list, and it decides which New Jersey credential you start on.
'Reciprocity' is a misnomer — New Jersey does not auto-exchange an out-of-state license. NJDOE reviews credentials individually through NJEdCert and routes applicants into one of three tracks: an alternate-route reciprocity pilot (Rowan or Rutgers-Newark), the traditional route (equivalent of a valid CEAS from a program with clinical practice), or the standard-certificate route (valid out-of-state standard certificate plus two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, or NBPTS certification). Equivalent subject-area/grade-level certification is a prerequisite for every track. Only the $70 NJEdCert evaluation fee is publicly published; other issuance fees are quoted inside the application system.
New Jersey requirements at a glance
| Exam | New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought |
|---|---|
| Additional requirements |
|
| Fees | $70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)) |
| Processing time | NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post |
Step by step
- Confirm New Jersey's current requirements on the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification website — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification (application linked on this page).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Apply through the New Jersey educator certification system (NJEdCert) for a full evaluation of your credentials.
- Hold the equivalent of a valid CEAS after completing a preparation program that included clinical practice (student teaching), OR hold a valid out-of-state standard certificate with at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, OR hold National Board (NBPTS) certification in an equivalent subject area.
- Demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test required for the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter test.
- Satisfy the physiology and hygiene requirement — an accredited college course such as biology, health or nutrition, evidence of basic military training, or the NJDOE online test.
- Clear the NJDOE Office of Student Protection criminal history record check (fingerprinting) before being employed by a New Jersey school.
- Pay the fees ($70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.))). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Official links
Coming from a specific state?
Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into New Jersey:
Nearby states
Teaching license transfer into the states bordering New Jersey:
New Jersey for other professions
- Nursing in New Jersey
- Cosmetology / Barber in New Jersey
- Real Estate in New Jersey
- Contractor in New Jersey
- CPA / Accounting in New Jersey
- Electrician in New Jersey
- Plumber in New Jersey
- Engineering in New Jersey
- Pharmacy in New Jersey
- Physical Therapy in New Jersey
- Psychology in New Jersey
- Counseling in New Jersey
- Social Work in New Jersey
- Occupational Therapy in New Jersey
Frequently asked questions
Does my teaching license transfer to New Jersey?
New Jersey does not exchange your teaching license. The New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which New Jersey credential you qualify for and what you still need to complete. Application fee: $70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)).
Is teaching reciprocity automatic in New Jersey?
No. New Jersey reviews each out-of-state credential individually and decides which credential you qualify for and what remains.
What tests or requirements does New Jersey add?
New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
What does a New Jersey out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?
$70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- NJDOE Certification — Reciprocity (out-of-state applicants) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE Certification — Teachers (physiology and hygiene requirement) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — NJEdCert and Certification FAQ (evaluation fee) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — Criminal History Record Check ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]