Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from New York to New Jersey: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from New York to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your New York license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

New Jersey reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of a New York teacher is settled by that review: it decides which New Jersey credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.

What changes, New York → New Jersey

Side-by-side: New York vs New Jersey (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-08-07
New York (current)New Jersey (destination)
Application fee$100 ($100 per certificate title or extension for an Initial/Professional classroom teaching certificate awarded on alternate requirements (transcript/individual evaluation) — the route interstate applicants use. The $50 rate applies only to certificates based on completion of a New York State-registered approved program requiring a college recommendation. Additional: $104.50 fingerprint fee as of 2026-02-02 (DCJS $75.00 + FBI $12.00 + IDEMIA $17.50). An application is valid for three years or two evaluations, whichever comes first, and the fee is non-refundable once evaluated.)$70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.))
Processing timeNYSED publishes no processing-time estimate for certification applications. The Office of Teaching Initiatives states only that it 'can not determine eligibility for certification until an application has been submitted, and a review of your credentials has been completed.'NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post
Licensing authorityNew York State Education Department (NYSED) — Office of Teaching InitiativesNew Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification

The destination column is what you must satisfy — New Jersey sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm New Jersey's current requirements on the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Apply through the New Jersey educator certification system (NJEdCert) for a full evaluation of your credentials.
  5. Hold the equivalent of a valid CEAS after completing a preparation program that included clinical practice (student teaching), OR hold a valid out-of-state standard certificate with at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, OR hold National Board (NBPTS) certification in an equivalent subject area.
  6. Demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test required for the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter test.
  7. Satisfy the physiology and hygiene requirement — an accredited college course such as biology, health or nutrition, evidence of basic military training, or the NJDOE online test.
  8. Clear the NJDOE Office of Student Protection criminal history record check (fingerprinting) before being employed by a New Jersey school.
  9. Pay the fees ($70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.))). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does New Jersey accept a New York teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from New York to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your New York license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.

Will I have to retake tests moving from New York to New Jersey?

New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.

Can I teach in New Jersey right away?

That depends on New Jersey's review: the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.

What does the New York-to-New Jersey transfer cost and how long does it take?

$70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]