Teaching License from North Carolina to Idaho: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from North Carolina to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification, verify your North Carolina license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from North Carolina to Idaho is an application, not a transfer: Idaho reviews your North Carolina certificate and issues an Idaho certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Idaho still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, North Carolina → Idaho
| North Carolina (current) | Idaho (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $30–$100 (NCDPI publishes only a range: 'Non-refundable service fees range from $30 - $100' for professional educator's licenses, with the exact amount set by application type under the State Board's Licensure Fees policy. No single out-of-state application figure is published.) | $75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional) |
| Processing time | 8–12 weeks (NCDPI's licensure page states 'Processing of licensure applications is currently averaging 8-12 weeks.' This is a current-conditions figure, not a statutory service standard.) | Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application |
| Licensing authority | North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) — Educator Licensure | Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Idaho sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Idaho's current requirements on the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a current, valid out-of-state certificate issued on completion of a state-approved program (NASDTEC Interstate Agreement), or complete a CAEP/AAQEP-accredited program within the last 2 years.
- Submit the completed and signed Idaho Educator Certification Application packet with all required documents in a single packet.
- Complete a Background Investigation Check (BIC) packet with fingerprinting and its processing fee.
- Submit official transcripts verifying at least a baccalaureate degree and the certification/endorsement areas.
- Pay the fees ($75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Idaho accept a North Carolina teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from North Carolina to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification, verify your North Carolina license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.
Will I have to retake tests moving from North Carolina to Idaho?
An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.
Can I teach in Idaho right away?
Not until the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification issues your Idaho certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the North Carolina-to-Idaho transfer cost and how long does it take?
$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- Idaho SDE - Certificate for Out-of-state Applicants ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Idaho SDE - Educator Certification (department landing) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- NCDPI — Educator's Licensure (processing time) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Further Educator License Information (out-of-state, CPL/IPL, exam comparability) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Forms and FAQs (fee range, out-of-state applicant definition) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Apply for a NC Educator License ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]