Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Transfer Your Teaching License to Idaho: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)

Moving your teaching license to Idaho means applying to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification for its own certificate, not transferring the one you hold. Idaho issues its certificate on review of your out-of-state one; plan for the requirements below. Application fee: $75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional).

Moving to Idaho from a specific state?

Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

The framing that matters for Idaho: you are applying for an Idaho certificate, not carrying yours across. The Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification issues its own certificate on review of your out-of-state one, so the work is to have every document and test score it asks for ready when you apply — gaps are what slow a review. The requirements below are Idaho's list.

Reciprocity is a misnomer - Idaho does not auto-exchange an out-of-state license; you apply for the Certificate for Out-of-state Applicants, which Idaho grants based on a current valid out-of-state certificate (NASDTEC framework) or a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation, subject to fingerprinting and transcript review. If your out-of-state certificate has expired, Idaho instead issues an Interim Certificate while you complete requirements (e.g., ABCTE, 2 years mentored teaching).

Idaho requirements at a glance

Out-of-state teaching certificate transfer requirements for Idaho, verified 2026-07-21
ExamAn applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution
Additional requirements
  • Hold a current, valid out-of-state certificate issued on completion of a state-approved program (NASDTEC Interstate Agreement), or complete a CAEP/AAQEP-accredited program within the last 2 years
  • Submit the completed and signed Idaho Educator Certification Application packet with all required documents in a single packet
  • Complete a Background Investigation Check (BIC) packet with fingerprinting and its processing fee
  • Submit official transcripts verifying at least a baccalaureate degree and the certification/endorsement areas
Fees$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)
Processing timeNot stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application

Step by step

  1. Confirm Idaho's current requirements on the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification website — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification (application linked on this page).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a current, valid out-of-state certificate issued on completion of a state-approved program (NASDTEC Interstate Agreement), or complete a CAEP/AAQEP-accredited program within the last 2 years.
  5. Submit the completed and signed Idaho Educator Certification Application packet with all required documents in a single packet.
  6. Complete a Background Investigation Check (BIC) packet with fingerprinting and its processing fee.
  7. Submit official transcripts verifying at least a baccalaureate degree and the certification/endorsement areas.
  8. Pay the fees ($75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.

Official links

Coming from a specific state?

Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into Idaho:

Nearby states

Teaching license transfer into the states bordering Idaho:

Idaho for other professions

Frequently asked questions

Does my teaching license transfer to Idaho?

Moving your teaching license to Idaho means applying to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification for its own certificate, not transferring the one you hold. Idaho issues its certificate on review of your out-of-state one; plan for the requirements below. Application fee: $75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional).

Is teaching reciprocity automatic in Idaho?

No. Idaho reviews your out-of-state certificate and issues its own; it is the right to apply, not an instant swap.

What tests or requirements does Idaho add?

An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.

What does an Idaho out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?

$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]