Teaching License from North Carolina to Kentucky: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from North Carolina to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your North Carolina license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Kentucky reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of a North Carolina teacher is settled by that review: it decides which Kentucky credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.
What changes, North Carolina → Kentucky
| North Carolina (current) | Kentucky (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $30–$100 (NCDPI publishes only a range: 'Non-refundable service fees range from $30 - $100' for professional educator's licenses, with the exact amount set by application type under the State Board's Licensure Fees policy. No single out-of-state application figure is published.) | $85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)) |
| Processing time | 8–12 weeks (NCDPI's licensure page states 'Processing of licensure applications is currently averaging 8-12 weeks.' This is a current-conditions figure, not a statutory service standard.) | Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page |
| Licensing authority | North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) — Educator Licensure | Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Kentucky sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm Kentucky's current requirements on the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program at a regionally accredited institution (or a state-approved alternative route).
- Submit application 'A' (CA-1, Application for Kentucky Certification) through the EPSB Online Document Submission portal.
- Provide a copy of your valid out-of-state teaching certificate (16 KAR 4:030).
- Meet Kentucky ancillary requirements - GPA, testing (Praxis via ETS), and internship.
- Submit official bachelor's (and graduate, if applicable) transcripts to KDE Certification.
- Pay the fees ($85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does Kentucky accept a North Carolina teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from North Carolina to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your North Carolina license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).
Will I have to retake tests moving from North Carolina to Kentucky?
Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).
Can I teach in Kentucky right away?
That depends on Kentucky's review: the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.
What does the North Carolina-to-Kentucky transfer cost and how long does it take?
$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- Kentucky EPSB - Candidates Trained Outside of Kentucky (out-of-state certification, NASDTEC, CA-1, $85 fee, Praxis) [accessed via Internet Archive; live epsb.ky.gov unreachable/migrating, content dated 2020] ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- NCDPI — Educator's Licensure (processing time) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Further Educator License Information (out-of-state, CPL/IPL, exam comparability) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Forms and FAQs (fee range, out-of-state applicant definition) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NCDPI — Apply for a NC Educator License ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]