Teaching License from North Dakota to California: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from North Dakota to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your North Dakota license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from North Dakota to California is an application, not a transfer: California reviews your North Dakota certificate and issues a California certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what California still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, North Dakota → California
| North Dakota (current) | California (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $85–$190 (Other State Educator License: $85 for the initial 2-year OSEL, $190 for the initial 5-year OSEL. Additional and not included in this range: a $30 initial application fee, a $5 maintenance charge added to every new ESPB application since 2019-06-01, $44.50 fingerprinting, and $80 per endorsement. Applicants without a current out-of-state license use the Out-of-State Reciprocal License at $85 instead.) | $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations) |
| Processing time | ESPB publishes no license-processing estimate. The only official timing figures are collateral: fingerprint/background results returning from the FBI/BCI 'averages 3 weeks', and ESPB asks that you allow 5 to 7 working days for a response to emailed questions | Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks |
| Licensing authority | North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) | California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — California sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm California's current requirements on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a comparable professional-level out-of-state teaching credential (intern, apprentice, emergency, temporary/non-renewable, or exam-conditioned documents do not qualify).
- Submit official transcripts verifying a bachelor's or higher degree.
- Complete fingerprint/Livescan clearance (Credential Leaflet CL-271).
- Clear the five-year Preliminary credential by completing a Commission-approved Teacher Induction program and earning a California English learner authorization (Route 1); 2+ years of out-of-state experience exempts you from induction (Route 2).
- Demonstrate subject-matter competence (CSET or an approved option) to earn the Clear credential.
- Pay the fees ($100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does California accept a North Dakota teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from North Dakota to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your North Dakota license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Will I have to retake tests moving from North Dakota to California?
No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Can I teach in California right away?
Not until the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) issues your California certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the North Dakota-to-California transfer cost and how long does it take?
$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- CTC — Out-of-State Elementary Teacher Applicants (Multiple Subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-561 (Multiple Subject Teaching Credential for Educators Prepared in Another State) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-659 (Application Fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- ND ESPB — Types of Licenses (OSEL and Out-of-State Reciprocal License) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- ND ESPB — Licensing Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- ND ESPB — Background Checks ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- ND ESPB — Mandated Reporter Training for Initial Licensure ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- ND ESPB — License FAQs ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]