Transfer Your Teaching License to California: Reciprocity & Endorsement (2026)
California does not simply swap your teaching license — "reciprocity" here means the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) reviews your credential and issues its own California certificate. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements. Fee: $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations).
Moving to California from a specific state?
Pick your current state — the checker returns your exact pathway.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
The framing that matters for California: you are applying for a California certificate, not carrying yours across. The California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) issues its own certificate on review of your out-of-state one, so the work is to have every document and test score it asks for ready when you apply — gaps are what slow a review. The requirements below are California's list.
'Reciprocity' is a misnomer — California issues its own credential, not an auto-exchange. The CTC issues a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential on your out-of-state preparation, then requires you to meet California conditions (subject-matter competence, a Teacher Induction program, and an English learner authorization) to earn the Clear credential within the preliminary window. Not a streamlined/full-reciprocity state.
California requirements at a glance
| Exam | No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements. |
|---|---|
| Additional requirements |
|
| Fees | $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations) |
| Processing time | Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks |
Step by step
- Confirm California's current requirements on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) (application linked on this page).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a comparable professional-level out-of-state teaching credential (intern, apprentice, emergency, temporary/non-renewable, or exam-conditioned documents do not qualify).
- Submit official transcripts verifying a bachelor's or higher degree.
- Complete fingerprint/Livescan clearance (Credential Leaflet CL-271).
- Clear the five-year Preliminary credential by completing a Commission-approved Teacher Induction program and earning a California English learner authorization (Route 1); 2+ years of out-of-state experience exempts you from induction (Route 2).
- Demonstrate subject-matter competence (CSET or an approved option) to earn the Clear credential.
- Pay the fees ($100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Official links
Coming from a specific state?
Direction matters — these guides cover the exact move into California:
All 50 origin states
Nearby states
Teaching license transfer into the states bordering California:
California for other professions
- Nursing in California
- Cosmetology / Barber in California
- Real Estate in California
- Contractor in California
- CPA / Accounting in California
- Electrician in California
- Plumber in California
- Engineering in California
- Pharmacy in California
- Physical Therapy in California
- Psychology in California
- Counseling in California
- Social Work in California
- Occupational Therapy in California
Frequently asked questions
Does my teaching license transfer to California?
California does not simply swap your teaching license — "reciprocity" here means the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) reviews your credential and issues its own California certificate. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements. Fee: $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations).
Is teaching reciprocity automatic in California?
No. California reviews your out-of-state certificate and issues its own; it is the right to apply, not an instant swap.
What tests or requirements does California add?
No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
What does a California out-of-state teaching certificate cost and how long does it take?
$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-07-21.
- CTC — Out-of-State Elementary Teacher Applicants (Multiple Subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-561 (Multiple Subject Teaching Credential for Educators Prepared in Another State) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-659 (Application Fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-07-21
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]