Teaching License from Ohio to California: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your Ohio license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Ohio to California is an application, not a transfer: California reviews your Ohio certificate and issues a California certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what California still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Ohio → California
| Ohio (current) | California (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | NOT VERIFIED — Ohio publishes licensure fees inside the CORE application system rather than on a public fee page, and every public Ohio licensure URL (education.ohio.gov and sboe.ohio.gov) rejected automated retrieval on 2026-08-08: education.ohio.gov returns an F5 WAF 'Request Rejected' page to all clients including full browser headers, and sboe.ohio.gov returns 404 to every educator-licensure path tried. RETRIED 2026-09-01 with the same result: education.ohio.gov still answers the F5 'Request Rejected' interstitial (HTTP 200 with a rejection body) to full browser headers, sboe.ohio.gov still 404s on every path including its own root and the /wps/portal/ variants, and codes.ohio.gov and lsc.ohio.gov refused the connection outright. The one reachable official host, the CORE public site (core.ode.state.oh.us), publishes an applications guide that states only that fees are paid in CORE and names a single $20 alignment fee — no license application fee schedule. No fee figure is asserted rather than publishing an unverified number. Ohio waives licensure fees for honorably discharged veterans and current service members | $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations) |
| Processing time | NOT VERIFIED — no processing timeframe could be read; the Ohio licensure pages were unreachable to automated retrieval on 2026-08-08 (see fees notes) | Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks |
| Licensing authority | Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Office of Educator Licensure | California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — California sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm California's current requirements on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a comparable professional-level out-of-state teaching credential (intern, apprentice, emergency, temporary/non-renewable, or exam-conditioned documents do not qualify).
- Submit official transcripts verifying a bachelor's or higher degree.
- Complete fingerprint/Livescan clearance (Credential Leaflet CL-271).
- Clear the five-year Preliminary credential by completing a Commission-approved Teacher Induction program and earning a California English learner authorization (Route 1); 2+ years of out-of-state experience exempts you from induction (Route 2).
- Demonstrate subject-matter competence (CSET or an approved option) to earn the Clear credential.
- Pay the fees ($100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does California accept an Ohio teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your Ohio license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Ohio to California?
No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Can I teach in California right away?
Not until the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) issues your California certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Ohio-to-California transfer cost and how long does it take?
$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-08.
- CTC — Out-of-State Elementary Teacher Applicants (Multiple Subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-561 (Multiple Subject Teaching Credential for Educators Prepared in Another State) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-659 (Application Fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Teaching (educator licensure hub; domain confirmed live but serves an F5 WAF rejection to automated clients) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-08)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-08
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]