Teaching License from Ohio to District of Columbia: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Ohio license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from Ohio to District of Columbia is an application, not a transfer: District of Columbia reviews your Ohio certificate and issues a District of Columbia certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what District of Columbia still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, Ohio → District of Columbia
| Ohio (current) | District of Columbia (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | NOT VERIFIED — Ohio publishes licensure fees inside the CORE application system rather than on a public fee page, and every public Ohio licensure URL (education.ohio.gov and sboe.ohio.gov) rejected automated retrieval on 2026-08-08: education.ohio.gov returns an F5 WAF 'Request Rejected' page to all clients including full browser headers, and sboe.ohio.gov returns 404 to every educator-licensure path tried. RETRIED 2026-09-01 with the same result: education.ohio.gov still answers the F5 'Request Rejected' interstitial (HTTP 200 with a rejection body) to full browser headers, sboe.ohio.gov still 404s on every path including its own root and the /wps/portal/ variants, and codes.ohio.gov and lsc.ohio.gov refused the connection outright. The one reachable official host, the CORE public site (core.ode.state.oh.us), publishes an applications guide that states only that fees are paid in CORE and names a single $20 alignment fee — no license application fee schedule. No fee figure is asserted rather than publishing an unverified number. Ohio waives licensure fees for honorably discharged veterans and current service members | $50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date) |
| Processing time | NOT VERIFIED — no processing timeframe could be read; the Ohio licensure pages were unreachable to automated retrieval on 2026-08-08 (see fees notes) | Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages |
| Licensing authority | Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Office of Educator Licensure | Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — District of Columbia sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm District of Columbia's current requirements on the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state via the verification system.
- Hold an active, full educator credential/license from another US state or territory (reciprocity may be applied only on your first DC educator-credential application).
- Complete an FBI Identity History Summary Check (IHSC) background check.
- Submit official transcripts from your degree-granting institution(s).
- Provide passing scores on comparable out-of-state licensing exams, or pass the prescribed District of Columbia (Praxis) exams.
- Pay the fees ($50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does District of Columbia accept an Ohio teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to District of Columbia by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing, verify your Ohio license, and meet District of Columbia's endorsement requirements. Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Ohio to District of Columbia?
Applicants may submit comparable licensing-exam scores passed in the state where the active full credential is held to satisfy DC's subject-content and pedagogy testing requirements; any applicant who cannot provide passing scores for comparable exams from another US state/territory must pass the prescribed District of Columbia exams (Praxis), while the National Board (NBPTS) pathway requires no DC exams.
Can I teach in District of Columbia right away?
Not until the Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE) - Educator Credentialing issues your District of Columbia certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the Ohio-to-District of Columbia transfer cost and how long does it take?
$50 ($50 non-refundable application processing fee per credential area (per the OSSE Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule dated 1.8.21); OSSE has announced a new educator-credentialing fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 - re-verify the amount for applications on/after that date). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed OSSE reciprocity/credential pages.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-08.
- OSSE - Out-of-State Credential Holders (Reciprocity) (active full credential, IHSC, comparable/DC exams, $50 fee, first-application only) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Standard Teacher Credential (4-year renewable; Option 3 out-of-state pathway; exam waiver with comparable out-of-state scores) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- OSSE - Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule ($50 per credential area) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- Ohio Department of Education and Workforce — Teaching (educator licensure hub; domain confirmed live but serves an F5 WAF rejection to automated clients) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-08)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-08
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]