Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Ohio to Kentucky: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your Ohio license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Kentucky reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of an Ohio teacher is settled by that review: it decides which Kentucky credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.

What changes, Ohio → Kentucky

Side-by-side: Ohio vs Kentucky (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-08-08
Ohio (current)Kentucky (destination)
Application feeNOT VERIFIED — Ohio publishes licensure fees inside the CORE application system rather than on a public fee page, and every public Ohio licensure URL (education.ohio.gov and sboe.ohio.gov) rejected automated retrieval on 2026-08-08: education.ohio.gov returns an F5 WAF 'Request Rejected' page to all clients including full browser headers, and sboe.ohio.gov returns 404 to every educator-licensure path tried. RETRIED 2026-09-01 with the same result: education.ohio.gov still answers the F5 'Request Rejected' interstitial (HTTP 200 with a rejection body) to full browser headers, sboe.ohio.gov still 404s on every path including its own root and the /wps/portal/ variants, and codes.ohio.gov and lsc.ohio.gov refused the connection outright. The one reachable official host, the CORE public site (core.ode.state.oh.us), publishes an applications guide that states only that fees are paid in CORE and names a single $20 alignment fee — no license application fee schedule. No fee figure is asserted rather than publishing an unverified number. Ohio waives licensure fees for honorably discharged veterans and current service members$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))
Processing timeNOT VERIFIED — no processing timeframe could be read; the Ohio licensure pages were unreachable to automated retrieval on 2026-08-08 (see fees notes)Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page
Licensing authorityOhio Department of Education and Workforce — Office of Educator LicensureKentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Kentucky sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Kentucky's current requirements on the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program at a regionally accredited institution (or a state-approved alternative route).
  5. Submit application 'A' (CA-1, Application for Kentucky Certification) through the EPSB Online Document Submission portal.
  6. Provide a copy of your valid out-of-state teaching certificate (16 KAR 4:030).
  7. Meet Kentucky ancillary requirements - GPA, testing (Praxis via ETS), and internship.
  8. Submit official bachelor's (and graduate, if applicable) transcripts to KDE Certification.
  9. Pay the fees ($85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Kentucky accept an Ohio teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Ohio to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your Ohio license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Will I have to retake tests moving from Ohio to Kentucky?

Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Can I teach in Kentucky right away?

That depends on Kentucky's review: the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.

What does the Ohio-to-Kentucky transfer cost and how long does it take?

$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-08.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-08

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]