Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Pennsylvania to Idaho: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Pennsylvania to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Moving from Pennsylvania to Idaho is an application, not a transfer: Idaho reviews your Pennsylvania certificate and issues an Idaho certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Idaho still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.

What changes, Pennsylvania → Idaho

Side-by-side: Pennsylvania vs Idaho (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-09-01
Pennsylvania (current)Idaho (destination)
Application fee$150 ($150 total for an out-of-state applicant's new credential (program completed outside PA: Instructional, Career and Technical, Educational Specialist, Administrative/Supervisory, LOE, CQL) per PDE's Fees and Forms schedule effective 11/12/25 — a $50 standard certification fee (capped at $50 by Act 47 of 2025) plus the separate $100 Professional Educator Discipline fee, which Act 47 did not waive. Charged inside TIMS at submission. Veterans and their spouses are exempt from both fees. Separate from this: Praxis/PECT test fees paid to the testing provider, transcript costs, and background-check clearances. Adding an endorsement is billed separately ($100). On the same PDE schedule, experience-based credentials and their add-ons are $0, but testing add-ons (Instructional I/II, Career and Technical Instructional I/II, Administrative) are $150 — add-ons are not uniformly free, so check which kind yours is.)$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)
Processing timeNOT VERIFIED — PDE publishes no processing timeframe for out-of-state certification applications on the reviewed pageNot stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application
Licensing authorityPennsylvania Department of Education (PDE) — Bureau of School Leadership and Teacher QualityIdaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Idaho sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Idaho's current requirements on the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a current, valid out-of-state certificate issued on completion of a state-approved program (NASDTEC Interstate Agreement), or complete a CAEP/AAQEP-accredited program within the last 2 years.
  5. Submit the completed and signed Idaho Educator Certification Application packet with all required documents in a single packet.
  6. Complete a Background Investigation Check (BIC) packet with fingerprinting and its processing fee.
  7. Submit official transcripts verifying at least a baccalaureate degree and the certification/endorsement areas.
  8. Pay the fees ($75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional)). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Idaho accept a Pennsylvania teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Pennsylvania to Idaho by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification, verify your Pennsylvania license, and meet Idaho's endorsement requirements. An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.

Will I have to retake tests moving from Pennsylvania to Idaho?

An applicant who holds a current, valid out-of-state certificate (issued under the NASDTEC Interstate Agreement on completion of a state-approved program) transfers without retaking Idaho content exams; an applicant qualifying instead through a recent CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation must document the content-area testing required by the preparing institution.

Can I teach in Idaho right away?

Not until the Idaho State Department of Education (SDE) - Educator/Teacher Certification issues your Idaho certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.

What does the Pennsylvania-to-Idaho transfer cost and how long does it take?

$75 ($75 application fee payable to the Idaho Department of Education; a separate Background Investigation Check (fingerprint) processing fee is additional). Processing time: Not stated on the official out-of-state page; applicants are told to include transcripts to expedite and to allow 1-2 weeks for separately mailed transcripts to be paired with the application.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-01.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-09-01

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]