Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Texas to Kentucky: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Texas to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your Texas license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Kentucky reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of a Texas teacher is settled by that review: it decides which Kentucky credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.

What changes, Texas → Kentucky

Side-by-side: Texas vs Kentucky (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-08-07
Texas (current)Kentucky (destination)
Application fee$160–$164 (19 TAC Sec. 230.101 (SBEC rules currently in effect) sets the nonrefundable fee for 'Review of a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $160, the standard certificate at $75, and the 'One-year certificate based on a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $50. TEA's out-of-state application materials state $164 is collected for the credentials review; the $4 difference is not explained on any TEA page reviewed, so the range is reported rather than a single figure. The national criminal history check fee (a $10 criminal history review fee plus the current DPS/FBI fingerprint scanning and processing cost) and TExES exam fees are additional)$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))
Processing time6–8 weeks (TEA: 'Applicants should allow 6 to 8 weeks for processing.' Reviews and test-exemption determinations run longer in the busy season, which TEA pages describe variously as March-October and April-September. TEA's out-of-state certification page reported 531 applications awaiting review as of August 5, 2026 with four specialists assigned)Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page
Licensing authorityTexas Education Agency (TEA) - Educator CertificationKentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education)

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Kentucky sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Kentucky's current requirements on the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program at a regionally accredited institution (or a state-approved alternative route).
  5. Submit application 'A' (CA-1, Application for Kentucky Certification) through the EPSB Online Document Submission portal.
  6. Provide a copy of your valid out-of-state teaching certificate (16 KAR 4:030).
  7. Meet Kentucky ancillary requirements - GPA, testing (Praxis via ETS), and internship.
  8. Submit official bachelor's (and graduate, if applicable) transcripts to KDE Certification.
  9. Pay the fees ($85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay))). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Kentucky accept a Texas teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Texas to Kentucky by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education), verify your Texas license, and meet Kentucky's endorsement requirements. Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Will I have to retake tests moving from Texas to Kentucky?

Kentucky's required Praxis tests (ETS, KY code 7283) apply, but are waived if the applicant verifies two years of out-of-state teaching experience; out-of-state test scores do not substitute for Kentucky's Praxis tests unless they carry the exact same test code, and credentials earned in another state solely by passing an assessment are not recognized (16 KAR 4:030).

Can I teach in Kentucky right away?

That depends on Kentucky's review: the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) - Division of Educator Licensure and Quality (administered with the Kentucky Department of Education) decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.

What does the Texas-to-Kentucky transfer cost and how long does it take?

$85 ($85.00 application fee paid online through the EPSB account (ePay)). Processing time: Not stated on the reviewed EPSB out-of-state page.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]