Teaching License from Texas to New Jersey: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from Texas to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your Texas license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
New Jersey reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of a Texas teacher is settled by that review: it decides which New Jersey credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.
What changes, Texas → New Jersey
| Texas (current) | New Jersey (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $160–$164 (19 TAC Sec. 230.101 (SBEC rules currently in effect) sets the nonrefundable fee for 'Review of a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $160, the standard certificate at $75, and the 'One-year certificate based on a credential issued by a jurisdiction other than Texas' at $50. TEA's out-of-state application materials state $164 is collected for the credentials review; the $4 difference is not explained on any TEA page reviewed, so the range is reported rather than a single figure. The national criminal history check fee (a $10 criminal history review fee plus the current DPS/FBI fingerprint scanning and processing cost) and TExES exam fees are additional) | $70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)) |
| Processing time | 6–8 weeks (TEA: 'Applicants should allow 6 to 8 weeks for processing.' Reviews and test-exemption determinations run longer in the busy season, which TEA pages describe variously as March-October and April-September. TEA's out-of-state certification page reported 531 applications awaiting review as of August 5, 2026 with four specialists assigned) | NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post |
| Licensing authority | Texas Education Agency (TEA) - Educator Certification | New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — New Jersey sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm New Jersey's current requirements on the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Apply through the New Jersey educator certification system (NJEdCert) for a full evaluation of your credentials.
- Hold the equivalent of a valid CEAS after completing a preparation program that included clinical practice (student teaching), OR hold a valid out-of-state standard certificate with at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, OR hold National Board (NBPTS) certification in an equivalent subject area.
- Demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test required for the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter test.
- Satisfy the physiology and hygiene requirement — an accredited college course such as biology, health or nutrition, evidence of basic military training, or the NJDOE online test.
- Clear the NJDOE Office of Student Protection criminal history record check (fingerprinting) before being employed by a New Jersey school.
- Pay the fees ($70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.))). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does New Jersey accept a Texas teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from Texas to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your Texas license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Will I have to retake tests moving from Texas to New Jersey?
New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Can I teach in New Jersey right away?
That depends on New Jersey's review: the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.
What does the Texas-to-New Jersey transfer cost and how long does it take?
$70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- NJDOE Certification — Reciprocity (out-of-state applicants) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE Certification — Teachers (physiology and hygiene requirement) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — NJEdCert and Certification FAQ (evaluation fee) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — Criminal History Record Check ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Certified Educators (no reciprocity; Review of Credentials; certificate must be valid and active; 6-8 weeks) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Educator Test Exemption Review (1 year classroom / 2 years administrative-student services / 3+ years verifiable; STR not exemptible by experience or Reading Academies) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas SBEC rules currently in effect - 19 TAC Chapter 230 Subchapter G PDF, Sec. 230.101 Schedule of Fees ($160 review of an out-of-jurisdiction credential; $75 standard certificate; $50 one-year certificate; $10 criminal history review fee plus fingerprint costs) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Certifications overview (ECOS account required; 6 to 8 weeks in busiest months April-September; current review backlog) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- Texas TEA - Out-of-State Application Instructions (three-step TEAL sequence: Review of Credentials, One-Year Certificate, Standard Certificate) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]