Teaching License from West Virginia to California: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from West Virginia to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your West Virginia license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
Moving from West Virginia to California is an application, not a transfer: California reviews your West Virginia certificate and issues a California certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what California still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.
What changes, West Virginia → California
| West Virginia (current) | California (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | WVDE does not publish the Form 20R (reciprocity) fee on any page reachable on 2026-08-07 - wvde.us returns HTTP 403 to automated requests and the fee sentence does not appear in official-domain search results for that form. For calibration, the parallel out-of-state route Form 20A is stated at 100 USD, and several unrelated WV forms (20T, 20WV, 28) are stated at 35 USD, so the 20R amount cannot be inferred safely. Fingerprinting is 47.25 USD paid directly to IdentoGo and is not submitted with the application | $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations) |
| Processing time | WVDE publishes no numeric processing range; the Office of Certification does not begin processing until the online payment clears | Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks |
| Licensing authority | West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) - Office of Certification | California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — California sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm California's current requirements on the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Hold a comparable professional-level out-of-state teaching credential (intern, apprentice, emergency, temporary/non-renewable, or exam-conditioned documents do not qualify).
- Submit official transcripts verifying a bachelor's or higher degree.
- Complete fingerprint/Livescan clearance (Credential Leaflet CL-271).
- Clear the five-year Preliminary credential by completing a Commission-approved Teacher Induction program and earning a California English learner authorization (Route 1); 2+ years of out-of-state experience exempts you from induction (Route 2).
- Demonstrate subject-matter competence (CSET or an approved option) to earn the Clear credential.
- Pay the fees ($100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations)). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does California accept a West Virginia teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from West Virginia to California by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC), verify your West Virginia license, and meet California's endorsement requirements. No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Will I have to retake tests moving from West Virginia to California?
No blanket exam transfer. Your comparable professional-level out-of-state credential is accepted to issue a five-year Preliminary Multiple/Single Subject credential; subject-matter competence (CSET exams or a Commission-approved subject-matter option) is required to earn the Clear credential — and up front if the out-of-state authorization is middle-school only. California's Basic Skills Requirement (e.g., CBEST) applies under CTC rules unless met by an approved alternative; National Board certification waives the basic-skills requirement and other requirements.
Can I teach in California right away?
Not until the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) issues your California certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.
What does the West Virginia-to-California transfer cost and how long does it take?
$100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations). Processing time: Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- CTC — Out-of-State Elementary Teacher Applicants (Multiple Subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-561 (Multiple Subject Teaching Credential for Educators Prepared in Another State) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-659 (Application Fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- WVDE - Professional Teaching Certificate (Reciprocity from Out-of-State), Form 20R - valid out-of-state professional certificate, GPA 2.5/3.0, superintendent recommendation or Form 4B, certificate valid three years ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- WVDE - Professional Teaching Certificate (Out-of-State), Form 20A - 100 USD application fee; must pass all WVBE-required exams ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- WVDE - Out-of-State Teachers (chooses between Form 20R and Form 20A) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- WVDE - Certification Application Process (fees non-refundable, online payment only; IdentoGo fingerprinting 47.25 USD paid directly) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]