Occupational Therapy License from Indiana to Maryland: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice ↗
Yes, for working in Maryland — both Indiana and Maryland are active members of the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact (OT Compact). If Indiana is your primary state of residence and your Indiana license is active and unencumbered, you can buy a compact privilege to practice in Maryland without a second license. A privilege is not a license transfer: if you are moving your residence to Maryland, you will need a Maryland license once Maryland becomes your home state.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Compact privilege — work there without a second license
Because Indiana and Maryland are both issuing privileges, you may not need a Maryland license at all, provided Indiana stays your home. An OT or OTA living in Indiana with an active, unencumbered Indiana license can practice in Maryland on a compact privilege. That changes if you relocate: living in Maryland makes it your home state, and the privilege gives way to a Maryland license from the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.
What changes, Indiana → Maryland
| Indiana (current) | Maryland (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| OT Compact status | OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice | OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice |
| Application fee | $100 (nonrefundable application fee paid by card with the online application (same fee for OTA), per the PLA licensing page and Committee fee schedule (Dec 2025 archive copy). A temporary permit is $50 more. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: an Indiana privilege costs a $25 state fee plus the $75 Commission fee.) | $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.) |
| Processing time | PLA publishes no OT processing timeframe; an application with missing requirements is abandoned after one year | The Board publishes no processing timeframe. |
| Licensing authority | Indiana Occupational Therapy Committee (Indiana Professional Licensing Agency) | Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Maryland sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm your home-state license is active and unencumbered and that your home state is your primary state of residence.
- To work in Maryland: purchase a OT Compact privilege for Maryland through the compact commission and complete any Maryland jurisprudence requirement.
- Keep your home-state license active — every privilege lapses with it.
- If you are moving your primary residence to Maryland: apply for a Maryland license with the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice; a privilege does not follow you when your home state changes.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Can I use my Indiana occupational therapy license in Maryland?
Yes, for working in Maryland — both Indiana and Maryland are active members of the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact (OT Compact). If Indiana is your primary state of residence and your Indiana license is active and unencumbered, you can buy a compact privilege to practice in Maryland without a second license. A privilege is not a license transfer: if you are moving your residence to Maryland, you will need a Maryland license once Maryland becomes your home state.
Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from Indiana to Maryland?
No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online.
Do I need a Maryland license or just a compact privilege?
A privilege is enough if you keep living in Indiana and your Indiana license stays active and unencumbered. If you move your residence to Maryland, you need a Maryland license from the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.
What does it cost?
A Maryland compact privilege costs the $75 commission fee plus Maryland's privilege fee. A Maryland license by endorsement, for a relocation: $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.).
How long does it take?
A privilege depends on your FBI background check through the Indiana board and any Maryland jurisprudence step. A Maryland license by endorsement: The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Forms (Necessary Forms for an Initial License) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Application for Licensure (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Applicant's Checklist (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- COMAR 10.46.05 Collection of Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission — Before You Apply (Maryland accepting applications since April 15, 2026; $125 privilege fee; jurisprudence required) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Indiana PLA, Occupational Therapy Licensing Information and fee schedule (Internet Archive copy of 2025-12-15; in.gov refused connections from this environment on 2026-09-27) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Indiana PLA, Occupational Therapy Home, announcement of March 5, 2026: 'Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact Implemented and Live in Indiana, Beginning Monday, March 9, 2026' (Internet Archive copy of 2026-06-12) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]