Occupational Therapy License from Ohio to Maryland: Does It Transfer? (2026)
Last verified: 2026-09-27 · source: Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice ↗
Yes, for working in Maryland — both Ohio and Maryland are active members of the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact (OT Compact). If Ohio is your primary state of residence and your Ohio license is active and unencumbered, you can buy a compact privilege to practice in Maryland without a second license. A privilege is not a license transfer: if you are moving your residence to Maryland, you will need a Maryland license once Maryland becomes your home state.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Compact privilege — work there without a second license
Ohio and Maryland both issue OT Compact privileges, so this move has two versions. Working in Maryland while you keep living in Ohio: buy a Maryland privilege through the commission ($75 plus Maryland's fee), meet any Maryland jurisprudence requirement, and keep your Ohio license active, because the privilege ends when it does. Moving to Maryland: Maryland becomes your home state and you need a Maryland license, by converting the privilege where the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice offers that route or by endorsement.
What changes, Ohio → Maryland
| Ohio (current) | Maryland (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| OT Compact status | OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice | OT Compact member — compact privilege to practice |
| Application fee | $100 (non-refundable endorsement application fee paid online through eLicense Ohio; + $22 BCI and $24 FBI background-check fees (plus any vendor fingerprinting fee); + $35 NBCOT Score Transfer if not already sent. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee (Ohio privilege: $25 state fee + $75 commission fee).) | $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.) |
| Processing time | the Board states only that an application is reviewed within five business days of submission (approval or a request for more documents); no end-to-end licensing timeframe is published, and FBI checks from ink-rolled cards can take up to three months | The Board publishes no processing timeframe. |
| Licensing authority | Ohio Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, and Athletic Trainers Board (Occupational Therapy Section) | Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — Maryland sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm your home-state license is active and unencumbered and that your home state is your primary state of residence.
- To work in Maryland: purchase a OT Compact privilege for Maryland through the compact commission and complete any Maryland jurisprudence requirement.
- Keep your home-state license active — every privilege lapses with it.
- If you are moving your primary residence to Maryland: apply for a Maryland license with the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice; a privilege does not follow you when your home state changes.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Can I use my Ohio occupational therapy license in Maryland?
Yes, for working in Maryland — both Ohio and Maryland are active members of the Occupational Therapy Licensure Compact (OT Compact). If Ohio is your primary state of residence and your Ohio license is active and unencumbered, you can buy a compact privilege to practice in Maryland without a second license. A privilege is not a license transfer: if you are moving your residence to Maryland, you will need a Maryland license once Maryland becomes your home state.
Do I retake the NBCOT exam moving from Ohio to Maryland?
No. The NBCOT certification exam is not retaken. Maryland asks for verification of INITIAL NBCOT certification or examination; screenshots from NBCOT's verification site are accepted. Current NBCOT certification is not required. An applicant who is not currently NBCOT-certified submits a Continuing Competency Requirement Compliance Report showing 24 contact hours in the preceding 24 months. Every applicant must also complete the Maryland jurisprudence exam, an open-book exam on Health Occupations Article Title 10 and COMAR 10.46, answered on paper or online.
Do I need a Maryland license or just a compact privilege?
A privilege is enough if you keep living in Ohio and your Ohio license stays active and unencumbered. If you move your residence to Maryland, you need a Maryland license from the Maryland State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice.
What does it cost?
A Maryland compact privilege costs the $75 commission fee plus Maryland's privilege fee. A Maryland license by endorsement, for a relocation: $200 (Application for initial licensure is $200 (COMAR 10.46.05.01B). It is non-refundable and includes a first temporary license. The fingerprinting vendor fee is extra; the Board does not state the amount. NOT the OT Compact privilege fee: Maryland's privilege costs $125 (COMAR 10.46.05.01M) plus the $75 Commission fee.).
How long does it take?
A privilege depends on your FBI background check through the Ohio board and any Maryland jurisprudence step. A Maryland license by endorsement: The Board publishes no processing timeframe..
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-09-27.
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Forms (Necessary Forms for an Initial License) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Application for Licensure (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice — Applicant's Checklist (2026 version) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- COMAR 10.46.05 Collection of Fees ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- OT Compact Commission — Before You Apply (Maryland accepting applications since April 15, 2026; $125 privilege fee; jurisprudence required) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Ohio OTPTAT Board — OT and OTA Endorsement Applications ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Ohio OTPTAT Board — OT/OTA Endorsement Application Instructions packet (Dec 2025) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Ohio OTPTAT Board — OT-OTA Licensing (application pathways) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Ohio OTPTAT Board — OT Compact ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
- Ohio OTPTAT Board — OT-OTA Endorsement Application page (Internet Archive copy, captured 2025-06-12; eligibility and five-business-day review re-checked) ↗ (accessed 2026-09-27)
Reviewed by Billy Reiner, Editor · verified against primary sources 2026-09-27
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]