Teaching License from California to New Jersey: Does It Transfer? (2026)
A teaching certificate transfers from California to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your California license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Verify this exact pair in the checker
Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.
Verdict
Licensure by endorsement
New Jersey reviews each out-of-state teaching credential individually, so what it asks of a California teacher is settled by that review: it decides which New Jersey credential you qualify for and what remains. Apply early and treat the review result as your real requirement list.
What changes, California → New Jersey
| California (current) | New Jersey (destination) | |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $100 ($100.00 basic nonrefundable application fee (+ $2.65 online service fee); + $49 out-of-state fingerprint-card processing; fee waived only for qualifying military-spouse relocations) | $70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)) |
| Processing time | Not stated for credential review; out-of-state (non-resident) applications are a manual process and CTC posts current processing times separately — out-of-state DOJ fingerprint cards are stated at 10-12 weeks | NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post |
| Licensing authority | California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC) | New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification |
The destination column is what you must satisfy — New Jersey sets the rules for this move.
Step by step
- Confirm New Jersey's current requirements on the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification website (linked below) — rules change.
- Submit the endorsement application to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification (application linked below).
- Arrange license verification from your current state.
- Apply through the New Jersey educator certification system (NJEdCert) for a full evaluation of your credentials.
- Hold the equivalent of a valid CEAS after completing a preparation program that included clinical practice (student teaching), OR hold a valid out-of-state standard certificate with at least two effective years of teaching within three consecutive years, OR hold National Board (NBPTS) certification in an equivalent subject area.
- Demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test required for the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter test.
- Satisfy the physiology and hygiene requirement — an accredited college course such as biology, health or nutrition, evidence of basic military training, or the NJDOE online test.
- Clear the NJDOE Office of Student Protection criminal history record check (fingerprinting) before being employed by a New Jersey school.
- Pay the fees ($70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.))). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Official links
Related guides
Frequently asked questions
Does New Jersey accept a California teaching license?
A teaching certificate transfers from California to New Jersey by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification, verify your California license, and meet New Jersey's endorsement requirements. New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Will I have to retake tests moving from California to New Jersey?
New Jersey accepts an out-of-state subject-matter test in place of its own — applicants must either demonstrate passage of the subject-matter test that was required to receive the out-of-state license, or pass the appropriate New Jersey subject-matter (Praxis) test for the endorsement sought.
Can I teach in New Jersey right away?
That depends on New Jersey's review: the New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) — Office of Certification decides which credential you qualify for. Ask it whether you can start before anything outstanding is complete.
What does the California-to-New Jersey transfer cost and how long does it take?
$70 (NJEdCert charges a $70 evaluation fee when a regular certification application is submitted for a full review of credentials; NJDOE does not publish a consolidated public fee schedule for the remaining issuance fees, so an upper bound is not stated. The 2023-24 certification fee holiday has ended. (A separate $170 flat fee applies only to the limited CE/CEAS pilot program.)). Processing time: NJDOE publishes no numeric range — its certification FAQ states only that 'the average processing time varies during the year' and that summer months are busiest. Official transcripts alone take roughly 10-15 business days from receipt to post.
Sources
Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.
- NJDOE Certification — Reciprocity (out-of-state applicants) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE Certification — Teachers (physiology and hygiene requirement) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — NJEdCert and Certification FAQ (evaluation fee) ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- NJDOE — Criminal History Record Check ↗ (accessed 2026-08-07)
- CTC — Out-of-State Elementary Teacher Applicants (Multiple Subject) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-561 (Multiple Subject Teaching Credential for Educators Prepared in Another State) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
- CTC — Credential Leaflet CL-659 (Application Fees) ↗ (accessed 2026-07-21)
Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07
How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]