Skip to content
LicenseReciprocity

Teaching License from Georgia to Alabama: Does It Transfer? (2026)

A teaching certificate transfers from Georgia to Alabama by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section, verify your Georgia license, and meet Alabama's endorsement requirements. Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.

Verify this exact pair in the checker

Same data, interactive — with share link and board links.

Run the Reciprocity Checker →

Verdict

Licensure by endorsement

Moving from Georgia to Alabama is an application, not a transfer: Alabama reviews your Georgia certificate and issues an Alabama certificate of its own. The tests and requirements below are what Alabama still asks — gather them before you apply, because gaps are what slow a review.

What changes, Georgia → Alabama

Side-by-side: Georgia vs Alabama (Teaching (K-12)), verified 2026-08-07
Georgia (current)Alabama (destination)
Application fee$0–$20 ($20 processing fee payable via MyPSC for all certification transactions; waived for an applicant's first Georgia certificate when the application is supported by an employing Georgia local unit of administration (LUA). GACE exam fees and fingerprinting costs are additional.)$30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional)
Processing time2+ weeks (GaPSC publishes no fixed range; it posts a live queue date and asks applicants to 'wait at least two weeks after completing your application' before contacting the office. On 2026-08-07 the site stated it was processing complete application packages received on or before July 27, 2026.)Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores
Licensing authorityGeorgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC)Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section

The destination column is what you must satisfy — Alabama sets the rules for this move.

Step by step

  1. Confirm Alabama's current requirements on the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section website (linked below) — rules change.
  2. Submit the endorsement application to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section (application linked below).
  3. Arrange license verification from your current state.
  4. Hold a valid professional educator certificate from another state, DC, a U.S. territory, or DoDEA in an area, grade level, and degree level comparable to an Alabama certificate.
  5. Verify an earned bachelor's or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution on official transcripts (teaching fields).
  6. Complete a criminal-history (fingerprint) background check under the Alabama Child Protection Act.
  7. Verify U.S. citizenship or lawful nationality/immigration status (Beason-Hammon Act).
  8. Meet the AECAP testing requirements prescribed for this approach; a 6-month window applies if testing is required.
  9. Apply online through the ALSDE ACE / AIM certification system.
  10. Pay the fees ($30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional)). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.

Official links

Related guides

Frequently asked questions

Does Alabama accept a Georgia teaching license?

A teaching certificate transfers from Georgia to Alabama by endorsement — there is no automatic reciprocity, but you do not start over. Apply to the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section, verify your Georgia license, and meet Alabama's endorsement requirements. Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.

Will I have to retake tests moving from Georgia to Alabama?

Alabama relies on your valid out-of-state professional educator certificate; Rule 290-3-2-.20 (Certificate Reciprocity) does not list a separate Alabama Praxis passing score for teaching fields, but Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP) requirements — ACT WorkKeys basic-skills, prescribed Praxis II subject test(s), and the Pearson performance assessment — apply as prescribed 'for this approach', and a 6-month window is allowed to submit any required passing scores.

Can I teach in Alabama right away?

Not until the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) — Educator Certification Section issues your Alabama certificate, so build its processing time into your start date.

What does the Georgia-to-Alabama transfer cost and how long does it take?

$30 ($30.00 nonrefundable application fee per Ala. Code 16-23-4; additional fee for each extra area; fingerprint/background-check costs additional). Processing time: Not stated; rule allows a 60-day window to complete an incomplete application and a 6-month window to submit any required AECAP scores.

Sources

Primary sources only — official boards and compact commissions. Data last verified 2026-08-07.

Reviewed by the License Reciprocity Editorial Team · verified against primary sources 2026-08-07

How we verify · All sources · spot an error? [email protected]